Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 19, 2010, 07:06 PM
Top Prospect

Default Front height channels and sound cards?

Hello all,

I'm setting up a home theater and plan to hook my computer into it. I will have on board sound to start, and plan to upgrade down the road and add a sound card. For an amp I plan to use an HT-RC270 that can take 7.1 analog in, or I can use an optical. 7.1 surround is a bit much for the room, so I want to see if I like the sound of front height speakers. I'm new to DSX and PlIIz so I'm curious if anyone knows the best way to hook my PC up for this configuration? Also, I haven't seen it kicking about, but is there a sound card that has on board dsx or PlIIz?

Thanks all, I'll let you know how the system sounds when I get it built.
Old September 19, 2010, 08:16 PM

My System Specs

Generally it is the receiver that does the the DSP/expanding. So the sound card should have no affect on this. And since you are using a HDMI 1.3 capable receiver the easiest way would to just buy a videocard w/ a capable HDMI out. Like and ATI HD 5-series card or an Nvidia GTS450/GTX460.
Old September 19, 2010, 08:37 PM
Top Prospect

I will be using a GTX 460 into an H5360 if everything goes according to plan. I need to check if the EDID will pass through the amp, and if that's the case I may not need a sound card.
Old September 19, 2010, 10:07 PM

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyxtwing View Post
I will be using a GTX 460 into an H5360 if everything goes according to plan. I need to check if the EDID will pass through the amp, and if that's the case I may not need a sound card.
I don't see why it should be a problem. I am using a Onyko TX-SR606 w/ my GTX460's. It works pretty decently. Only issue is that my HD audio formats are no longer supported. Although I think that has to due w/ the HDMI board on the receiver likely dying.
Old September 19, 2010, 11:00 PM
Top Prospect