Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2010, 11:43 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,626

My System Specs

Default Found a Way to Use Rear Speakers with Realtek HD Drivers

Apparently there's a simple way. When you plug in your audio plug into the jack, just select front speakers instead of rear speakers. That way, you still get "perfect sound" from your rear speakers. Do know that this isn't true 5.1, but hey, at least it sounds better!

Off topic now. Anyone know how to force WMP, game, or anything to use the rear speakers like it should WITHOUT having to do the above? I know many sound cards like the Creative X-Fi and ASUS Xonar do this by upconverting or decoding the audio signal.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 12:06 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

get the correct dolby codex
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 11:40 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,626

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
get the correct dolby codex
Where would I find that? Tried playing SC2 with 5.1 selected in the audio. I barely got anything from the rear speakers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Logitech Z5500 Satellite Speakers *just speakers* Eagle Eye Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 7, 2011 06:44 AM
Realtek and Windows 7 curtispan O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 August 12, 2009 08:06 AM
2.1 system + 2 rear speakers? jcmaz Audio 4 June 22, 2009 02:35 AM
Is rear exhaust fan really needed? aviduser Cases 18 March 27, 2009 11:49 AM
Rear Channel on Realtek HD? sswilson Audio 8 July 25, 2007 01:07 PM