Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 02:43 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 442
Default Question about making my front panel connectors work

Hello, I have the Asus Xonar DX sound card and I am trying to make my front panel connectors work for my headphones. I thought that since this site did a review on the card someone here should be pretty familar with how to get it working.

I installed the card, plugged in the power cord it needs, and also plugged in the front panel connector HD audio on the side close to the PCI shield. I made real sure it is seated properly.

When I plug my speakers in the back, I was to understand that I could plug my headphones in the front and my speakers would automatically cut out and switch to the headphones. When I plug my headphones in, the speakers just keep playing and nothing happens with my headphones. Is there a setting in the software for this? I tried looking but I didn't see anything.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2010, 06:13 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BootlegUsher View Post
Hello, I have the Asus Xonar DX sound card and I am trying to make my front panel connectors work for my headphones. I thought that since this site did a review on the card someone here should be pretty familar with how to get it working.

I installed the card, plugged in the power cord it needs, and also plugged in the front panel connector HD audio on the side close to the PCI shield. I made real sure it is seated properly.

When I plug my speakers in the back, I was to understand that I could plug my headphones in the front and my speakers would automatically cut out and switch to the headphones. When I plug my headphones in, the speakers just keep playing and nothing happens with my headphones. Is there a setting in the software for this? I tried looking but I didn't see anything.

Cheers.
IN the cards driver settings, you have the settings for speaker config, you can select headphones, 2.0,5.1..etc. In that same drop down list there are setting that have "FP" in front such as:
FP Headphones, FP speakers. This enables your front panel headphones output.
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2010, 10:15 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 442
Default

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Front Panel advice Graysccale Audio 4 March 6, 2010 01:55 PM
Front panel headphone amp? Varroa Audio 0 December 14, 2009 05:30 AM
Front panel ground? martin_metal_88 Troubleshooting 0 May 31, 2009 06:00 PM
Audio noise in front panel connections Wrench Audio 1 February 15, 2009 09:49 AM
Panel mount connectors for PSU? MacJunky Power Supplies 0 May 18, 2007 05:12 PM