Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 11:36 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default Windows Media Player Can't Play FLAC

I'd like to get Windows Media Player to play FLAC but I don't know how. I already have CCCP installed and searched on Google and it said to install different codecs. Wouldn't that interfere with CCCP? I'm currently using Media Player Classic for FLAC music but I can't seem to select all my FLAC music and have them play as half of them seem to error out where I try to do that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried klite codec pack?
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:46 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Why do you need to use windows media player?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:46 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

WMP is a quite poor player. Use VLC - it looks ugly but it plays EVERYTHING with zero configuration or add-on codec packs.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:54 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

I use Foobar2000, it's lite on resource, simple interface and play my FLAC musics fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 12:57 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I personally prefer to use winamp for any audio playback (not ugly interface, has no problems playing them, has different available skins) and vlc for all my video playback. Have yet to run into something i can't play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 01:51 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

It's just a matter of preference and WMP is my preference for audio and some videos. Other player I use is MPC.

I found a way to play FLAC on WMP via Google, but I got the same problem where I couldn't queue the files and let them play one by one.

In the end, I'll probably just convert the FLAC files to like MP3 or M4A format... I need to put it on my phone and MP3 and I don't think they support FLAC. M4A is superior to MP3 right?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 05:52 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

What are you listening to these files on?
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 06:40 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
What are you listening to these files on?
Computer (using MPC atm), Samsung Yepp-T6Z (for car), and Sony Ericsson W715. Therefore I need to convert it either way since they can't play FLAC. The MP3 can't play M4A format so if I convert to M4A, I'll also need to do a separate conversion to MP3.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 07:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

install codec straight from the source? - FLAC - download
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some advice on a cheap media player tfran HTPC Systems & Software 3 November 26, 2009 06:15 PM
Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player... rob123 Off Topic 0 March 23, 2009 05:51 PM
your favorite media player CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 25 November 4, 2008 08:27 PM