Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
View Poll Results: Will it Work Again?
Yes 9 34.62%
NO 17 65.38%
Voters: 26. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 09:20 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Was it off when it went in the wash? It might still be alive then... Happened to me with a cellphone once. I took it completely appart, dried everything I could, cleaned all the exposed contacts I could see with contact cleaner (for electronics, rubbing alcohol works too for this) then put it back together a week later.. And it worked! Good luck? HF?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 02:22 PM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 392

My System Specs

Default

Well I tried to take it apart and ended up cracking the screen so I just said it and went out and bought a 32GB Gen 3. I'm in the process of loading everything back onto it . That load of laundry cost me around 400 bucks and a headache.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 04:22 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,959

My System Specs

Default 2 pounds rice

Big ZIP lock bag 2 pounds rice anouther zip lock bag. All the bits go in the bag with the rice. Pop it in to anouther bag. Make sure zippied up thight. though in the deep freezer 2 to 3 weeks. or you never know
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 04:37 PM
Stix26's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Default

I had a 360 Wireless headeset go through a full wash and worked fine the next day. No rice or anything. It might work as long as it didn't go in the dryer as well.
__________________
ThinkPad Owner.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2010, 06:55 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default

Maybe your house insurance might cover the loss?
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 07:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 84

My System Specs

Default

If it was powered off when washed and you let it thoroughly dry and I mean thoroughly it should work again.
It seems alot of people are confused by this, but its not the water that causes damage, its the minerals in the water because they are conducive. So as long as no power is being conducted inside the unit when water hits it, there is no reason for anything to short out.
Didn't vote because I don't know if had power on.
Most people turn they're unit on as soon as they discover it got wet and then its fried.

Hell, I have an 8gb iphone here that was run over by a car and still worked perfect afterwords. Although more then a year later the battery has started to act flaky. I couldn't believe the screen didn't shatter, but it just had a dent on the back.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 02:41 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

I'd say it's toast. Off or not the power still usually goes to some circuitry. And depending on how the LCD is attached to the PCB, it may never work again, some methods are pretty robust, others crap out with mere humidity.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2010, 03:37 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,580
Default

Mine went through the washing machine for a full hour cycle... It lived and works fine still, other than the "home" button doesnt work. But it wasnt working before anyways.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2010, 06:57 AM
OmegaRED's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa , Canada
Posts: 101

My System Specs

Default

If the screen isn't broken there's always hope...
__________________
E-Penis Specs:
Coolermaster Cosmos II \\ Intel i5 2500K@4.8ghz \\ Gigabyte PA67 UD7\\ MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680 SLI \\Corsair Vengeance 8GB LP \\ Seasonic Platinum 1000W \\ X-Fi Titanium HD \\ OCZ Vertez 3 120GB \\ RAID 0 Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA6G 64MB \\ Samsung 27" 3D LED Monitor \\ Logitech G5 \\ Logitech G-15 Keyboard \\ Logitech Z-5500 \\ Sennheiser 595 \\ Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2010, 09:32 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaRED View Post
If the screen isn't broken there's always hope...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikemaul View Post
Well I tried to take it apart and ended up cracking the screen
I just love it when people bump two-week-old threads without actually reading them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think it will work kendallcschm Power Supplies 61 November 25, 2009 09:10 PM
F@H does not work? Sushi Warrior HardwareCanucks F@H Team 37 October 29, 2009 03:52 PM
Is this going to work? stingo99 New Builds 0 January 5, 2009 11:04 AM
Will This Work? Infiniti Video Cards 2 July 21, 2008 11:54 AM
will this work Jhayman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 3, 2008 12:59 AM