Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 06:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Default Sound works through HDMI on TV, none through Speakers

Last night when I set up my computer I hooked up the video through HDMI to my TV. The sound worked fine coming through the TV but no sound came through the set of Logitech speakers I also had connected. In the audio settings both the ATI to HDMI sound and the Realtek onboard sound were shown as 'working' yet sound only came through the TV.
I'd like to get the sound working through both the TV and the speakers at the same time but I am unsure on how to configure it to use both.
I am running Vista, HIS Radeon 4850 with DVI-HDMI adapter, Realtek onboard sound card with Logitech X530(pretty sure on model) speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 06:39 AM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Most likely you'd need another sound card to do so unless your television also has audio-out in which case that may be possible. There should be an option to select which connection (via software on your PC which would be better to ask one of the sound guys about) the sound will be sent on. Most sound cards will only provide sound to a singular source however.
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 06:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Default

The TV is only hooked up through HDMI, I didn't even realize until last night that the TV outputs the sound, I guess the video card can somehow transmit sound as well. The only thing plugged into the actual sound card is the speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 06:48 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

ATI video cards can output sound, but you can disable it in CCC. Plus, you can get a performance jump b/c the video card is not doing two things at once: outputing the sound and the video.
Your lucky that it will transfer sound b/c NVIDIA video cards require a cumbersome step to do that.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 07:04 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,616
Default

With the ATI audio driver, you can't use two sound outputs at the same time.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 07:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Default

Thanks guys, I'll disable the ATI audio driver when I get home and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 08:51 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

I can get audio from both Realtek HD onboard and a HD3450 via HDMI, though only for media playback by using KMPlayer. It has an option to output to 2 audio devices.

Otherwise you're stuck with only sound coming out of the default device, which is fairly easily changed in Vista/7.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Sound Mainly from Main Speakers. Surround is dead geokilla Audio 14 November 29, 2009 09:22 PM
HDMI and no sound Wurmer Troubleshooting 12 July 3, 2009 04:17 PM
No sound from video card hdmi tcos HTPC Systems & Software 15 April 1, 2009 07:17 PM
Torn between sound cards (and speakers) Ordinator Audio 29 January 21, 2009 04:15 PM
No HDMI sound from my P5E-VM biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 January 8, 2009 06:45 PM