Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 02:24 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default one source, two outputs?

i was wondering, provided your MB has integrated audio, is it possible to playback a movie's audio through the integrated audio on speakers, while playing back music with a soundcard through some headphones.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 03:04 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

No I don't believe you can. Both devices have to go through the same audio layer in the OS architecture, if I'm not mistaken. Why would you want to do that anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 04:39 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

damn, lol.


i want to do it because sometimes whoever else is in the house wants to watch blu-ray on the computer, but i want to listen to some music while laying down on the couch/reading a book.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 07:12 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, that's not going to be physically possible with most OS setups on how they allocated and perform their audio processing. You're going to need to have a second audio device to do what you want.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 07:23 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Got me interested in seeing if it would work, it does. Granted I don't have a sound card in the system just integrated, but I have a USB head phones from Creative with drivers installed so acts live a second sound card. Anyway played a movie with integrated selected as windows default, then opened my audio player and in option selected my headphones (might have to restart player for settings to work) and got music from the headphones.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 07:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

With two physical audio devices (your integrated audio counts for 1 device too) yes it is possible - providing your playback application allows you to select audio devices to playback from as opposed to choosing the windows default prefered device.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 08:46 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

Oh damn I totally forgot about that. And I use Ventrilo everyday lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone play goldeneye source Bucklaz Gaming 12 February 18, 2009 10:15 PM
Beyond CounterStrike:Source 486 Gaming 15 November 9, 2008 09:19 AM
WC project and need source for part source AkG Water Cooling 9 April 23, 2008 08:40 PM
Open source drivers Gamashinoch Video Cards 1 September 26, 2007 01:36 PM