Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 10:44 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Exclamation Problems with Rampage Extreme audio card.

Ok well first of this one I was not shore where to put it, it is a mother board but the card is separate from it. I hope I made the correct choice.

Any who, I'm having a we bit of a problem here with the sound card for my brand new Rampage Extreme mobo (you know the supreme FX II sound card) just came out of the box 4 days ago and its been the worst install nightmare.....basicaly here is what I can tell you
1. Yes its in the top black PCI-ex1 slot, and yes it lights up.
2. HD audio enabled in bios.

Now I have tried installing the driver numerous times and I'm getting the "software does not support your hardware error"...from the Creative control panel. Either that or it says Console Launcher has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."
I have tried contacting ASUS and Creative but I am just getting bounced form one to the other. ASUS says to contact Creative, meanwhile Creative tells me to contact ASUS. This has been going on for 2 days, I am getting extremely pissed of with all of this and I am hoping one of you can help me to get my sound working properly.:help:Do any of you have any suggestions for me to try? Thanks (sorry for the long winded post but I felt it necessary)

Last edited by Gameplaywarrior; August 4, 2009 at 04:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 11:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default

As far as I know, that's the SupremeFX II and it doesn't support any of the X-Fi software functions. It's just a glorified ADI SoundMAX 1988B High-Definition audio codec.

Also, the P5K Deluxe apparently has a newer driver which works.

Correct me if I'm wrong though...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 11:35 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

What OS are you using? It may matter since i've run into different compatibility issues with different OSs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 02:54 AM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

If you're trying to install X-fi software, I don't think that soundboard has the X-fi chip. I thought only the Rampage Extreme had that chip. For the SupremeFX II, you should only need the Soundmax driver to get it running. i had a Maximus Formula, Striker II Formula, and a Rampage Formula...all of them had the SupremeFX II card and all only needed the Soundmax. i could be wrong, but I think you have the same soundboard. Also, I have the Rampage Extreme now with the X-fi card, and the damn X-fi software still won't install correctly, so it's messed up either way.

Good luck, but I think if you just stick with the Soundmax driver from the Asus support download page, you should be good.
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 09:43 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

If well if it dont ASUS has some explaning to do because it is on the driver CD and it also explains how to use the X-Fi software in the instruction book for the mother board...I can provide scans and screen shots if it is nessary. I am using XPsp3 for my operating system.

Quote:
Also, I have the Rampage Extreme now with the X-fi card, and the damn X-fi software still won't install correctly, so it's messed up either way
Have you tried installing the the HD KB835221 from Microsoft before installing audio driver? If not try that I have attached it for you.
Attached Files
File Type: rar KB835221.rar (626.2 KB, 88 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 02:56 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default

I see no mention of X-Fi on the Maximus Extreme page:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

If you look at the Rampage Extreme (X48 + DDR3) though, it clearly says SupremeFX X-Fi.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

And the only other LGA775 board with the SupremeFX X-Fi is the Maximus II Formula/GENE (P45).

I guess they just mis-printed the manual and gave you the wrong driver CD? Not like it's actual X-Fi anyways, just adding additional load to the CPU to do some additional sound processing, so I wouldn't consider it a huge loss.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 04:42 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

I listed the wrong motherboard....

I have the Rampage Extreme it was late and I was tired when I made the orginal post...I have since fixed it. So any ideas now (listing the corect mombo would have helped before) on how I can fix my my problem with the sound card.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 05:03 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

You've been drinking coolant again?

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

Check under audio, the driver is Soundmax
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 05:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

Then what is the deal with the Sound Blaster X-Fi Utility V1.0?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 05:43 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

That's just a fail attempt to emulate X-fi output through the ADI 1988B
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Maximus Extreme confusion CPU's and Motherboards 6 December 23, 2008 04:42 PM
hhelp for oc my qx9650 maximus extreme ddr3 1600 ocz850psu rafael mendes Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 October 25, 2008 07:11 PM
Maximus Extreme SagManQc CPU's and Motherboards 35 December 21, 2007 08:15 PM
ASUS Maximus Extreme Question? LegendofJubei CPU's and Motherboards 9 November 23, 2007 10:11 PM
ASUS Maximus Extreme x38 Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 0 November 17, 2007 10:30 AM