Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 09:58 PM
vic vic is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default Creative X-fi intergrated card??

I just bought the gateway fx 6800-03 refurb. The box it came in said it had the creative xfi gamer, but when I check the device manager it only shows Realtek high definition audio. There is a creative x-fi volume panel in the desktop. Is it possible that only the software is installed without the hardware?
I am a novice when it comes to these things and would appreciate any help.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 10:03 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a typical bait-and-switch. It most likely has the creative X-fi gamer software sitting ontop of the realtexk audio chipset. The only way that you'd have authentic creative audio (to my knowledge) would be if it is an actual independant card (pci or pci-e) and not intergrated into the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 02:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,487

My System Specs

Default

Does the creative volume panel work? If it doesn't, that'd be the first clue for sure that a card wasn't installed.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 05:40 AM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

From there web page:

Graphics, Sound & Multimedia

  • Support for NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ 8800 graphics processor
  • NVIDIA cards supported
  • Sound Blaster X-Fi support
  • Logitech speakers (selected models)
  • Integrated high-definition audio codec (SigmTel9220)
Sounds like there saying it supports Sound Blaster X-Fi but comes with a SigmTel9220 ?
If that's truly what they mean, then it's just a marketing pitch to get the name X-Fi in there. I mean which modern PC would not support a X-Fi sound card.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 07:30 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

It's definitely a marketing scam. Try and word things awkwardly to persuade someone into thinking they're actually getting what it describes. In a sense it's true, but it's really a bad marketing tactic. Sorry about your loss.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 08:30 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Is it X-Fi MB? I think they announced a year ago the software only X-Fi for OEM PCs:

OEM - Software Solutions - Sound Blaster X-Fi MB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 10:28 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

artistpavel, I think you hit the money right there. It's software emulation to create X-Fi sound, so it taxes on the CPU to get those features.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 10:44 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Why bother with software emulation? One of the main selling points of the X-Fi was how powerful supposedly that audio processor was!
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 11:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

I don't see any scam about it - it is clear as water - *SUPPORT* is the key-word, they didn't say "integrated X-FI", they didn't say: "Sound Blaster X-FI", they said it SUPPORTS it. :D

I have NEVER heard of an integrated SoundBlaster X-FI on motherboards yet - Even CreativeLabs themselves have gone way down in quality control lately!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 03:11 PM
vic vic is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the info guys. I checked the connectors at the back and they look like integrated connectors. The sb x-fi volume panel is fully functional, its weird, changing the settings makes a big difference in sound.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro PCI 7.1 Sound Card with Digital I/O adaptor zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 5 March 17, 2009 07:22 PM
FS : Creative X-FI XtremeGamer + G5 Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 5 October 11, 2008 01:39 PM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM
Help picking a non Creative Sound Card. BALISTX Audio 1 November 12, 2007 09:46 AM
Any input on all the new sound card Creative just launched? Misoprostol Audio 5 March 30, 2007 12:59 AM