Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Audio (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/audio/)
-   -   Creative X-fi intergrated card?? (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/audio/19395-creative-x-fi-intergrated-card.html)

vic June 28, 2009 10:58 PM

Creative X-fi intergrated card??

I just bought the gateway fx 6800-03 refurb. The box it came in said it had the creative xfi gamer, but when I check the device manager it only shows Realtek high definition audio. There is a creative x-fi volume panel in the desktop. Is it possible that only the software is installed without the hardware?
I am a novice when it comes to these things and would appreciate any help.
Thanks!

Arinoth June 28, 2009 11:03 PM

Sounds like a typical bait-and-switch. It most likely has the creative X-fi gamer software sitting ontop of the realtexk audio chipset. The only way that you'd have authentic creative audio (to my knowledge) would be if it is an actual independant card (pci or pci-e) and not intergrated into the motherboard.

sswilson June 29, 2009 03:43 AM

Does the creative volume panel work? If it doesn't, that'd be the first clue for sure that a card wasn't installed.

TopDogZero June 29, 2009 06:40 AM

From there web page:

Graphics, Sound & Multimedia

• Support for NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ 8800 graphics processor
  • NVIDIA cards supported
  • Sound Blaster X-Fi support
  • Logitech speakers (selected models)
  • Integrated high-definition audio codec (SigmTel9220)
Sounds like there saying it supports Sound Blaster X-Fi but comes with a SigmTel9220 ?
If that's truly what they mean, then it's just a marketing pitch to get the name X-Fi in there. I mean which modern PC would not support a X-Fi sound card:haha:.

bojangles June 29, 2009 08:30 AM