Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 08:42 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default hooking up a "studio"?

So I basically have access to all the amps, mixers, mics, etc. any audio equipment that i would need to record anything. Usually I just set the stuff up for like..movies , assemblies...school events etc.
I was wondering how I would hook up a mixer to say..a macbook? (yes i said the m-word lol) or a pc/laptop?...
Most obvious would be the 3.5mm connector but I want a good quality sound not crap...so any comments or advice? or first-hand experience???
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957


Last edited by Cadence; March 10, 2009 at 08:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 11:55 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

It all depends on what your notebook as for audio outs.
99.9% have the 3.5mm jack which would do in a pinch.



Then again, I have no idea what your average mixer takes so I can't even say look for an optical out or something....

I'd see what the best quality input your mixer has and work around that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 02:59 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Yes, if it comes down to it, you can find some USB sound cards that might have higher quality than the MacBooks onboard stuff but I cannot say for sure as I do not know what Apple has been using in their lappies.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 05:33 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Are you looking to output from the macbook or input to it? I'll assume the latter... since you're talking about recording. If your macbook has a firewire port, I'd suggest getting the following mixer:
ZED SERIES :: ALLEN & HEATH

Or, if you already have a mixer (and don't want to part with it) then I'd suggest getting an external sound card from m-audio:
M-AUDIO - Audio | MIDI Interfaces

Hope the info helps!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 07:13 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I use m-audio stuff to connect my mixer into my pc, usually a Delta44. I use one Mac as a Logic source, controlling the "instruments" over midi, then the outs of the "instruments" into the delta, then plugged into another mac/pc, with either proTools or Logic.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 01:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

i'm trying to avoid buying more stuff cause it's my school's stuff not mine. (highschool) unfortunatly the mixers i have at school are ghetto and dont have midi ports lol..i guess my last choice would be to PFL all channels and get a 1/4" to 18" ? would it work if i plugged in to the mic port ?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 01:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Do not use the mic port, use the "line-in" connected to the "line-out" of your mixer, and call it done. I use two pcs because one is used to generate sound, the other to record.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 01:39 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

no i meant the mic port of the macbook. plugging in the other end to the monitor headphone port on the mixer? would that work?
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 03:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Dunno, never used a macbook, but AFAIK, it's a line-in, not a mic in(configure in system preferences), so you'd wanna use the line-out, not the headphone out. I use specialized hardware.

What model of Macbook do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2009, 08:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

i have the black macbook..bought it last december from bestbuy..not the pro, and not the aluminum body one
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 1/2" "T" fitting for watercooling Toronto122 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 26, 2009 09:38 AM
Fake "Do Not Call" cell phone registry hits the streets sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 26, 2008 08:21 PM
"Girly" 2.5" IDE Enclosures encorp Storage 13 July 14, 2008 09:19 AM
TweakTown reviews GeCube X1950 Pro Champion Edition with "TEC" cooling Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 18, 2006 10:44 PM