Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 08:15 AM
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628

So yeah, use the line-out from the mixer to the "audio-in" on your macbook, and make sure it's configured as line-in in system preferences. Yes, an adapter will work to get the small plug for the macbook.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 07:46 PM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 393

alright...will still probably sound like crap -_-..i really wanna learn this 2-computer sound processing dealy!!
CPU:Intel i5 6600k - Corsair H110
GPU:2-Way SLI EVGA 560
HDD:250GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, 3TB WD Black
MOBO:Asus Z-170 Deluxe
RAM:G.Skill Ripjaws V F4 2800mhz 16GB
PSU:Silverstone 950W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 05:34 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762

Many older Mixer will have a Sub-Mix out, or a Tape out, you can connect these straight into the Line-in on a Mac-Book.
Use the Mixer for Mic's Disregard the mic-in on the mac book all together as it will be off low quality as most Mic' ins are on any laptops. Just think of the mixer as offering more inptus for your Mac book and use it with this in mind.
You can connect your phones or monitors/soeakers to the Mac Books line output.
Alternatley you can route back through the mixer from the line out for monitoring of the Mac Book but that all depends on what inputs the mixer has.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 11:32 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,793

My System Specs


The MacBook does not actually have a mic-in, only line level line-in and line level line-out.(as well as built in mic&speakers)
In fact, I am not currently aware of any Mac that has a standard PC mic-in port. Apple was using a slightly longer connector for mics (to maintain line-in compatibility while also providing power for the mic) in the 90s or so that they called "PlainTalk" but I do not know the latest Mac to contain such compatibility with Apple's proprietary PlainTalk mics.. and of course unless you got a longer connector and wired it up to your mic it would not work, so... yea.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 09:03 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762

Don't worry about the mic input on ANY PC or laptop, they are not good enough to be used for recording vocals, not even close. The best way is to connect the mixer to the Laptop through the line-in and connect a studio grade mic to the mixer and adjust the levels this way. That should give you quality vocals, that you can work with.
There are many others ways to do it also but considering you have the mixer you should find this way the easiest.

Last edited by Robscix; March 16, 2009 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 1/2" "T" fitting for watercooling Toronto122 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 26, 2009 10:38 AM
Fake "Do Not Call" cell phone registry hits the streets sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 26, 2008 09:21 PM
"Girly" 2.5" IDE Enclosures encorp Storage 13 July 14, 2008 09:19 AM
TweakTown reviews GeCube X1950 Pro Champion Edition with "TEC" cooling Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 18, 2006 11:44 PM