Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2007, 06:07 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Yes it would. You would really be using the X-fi as a DSP chip only. Your Sondigo would be the output section so you would indeed have all the features of either card. That would mean you would be able to send your games in full EAX/OPenAL over a digital connection to your 680's.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 02:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robscix View Post
When I play games, the audio goes to the Audigy 2 first to be processed and effects added for EAX/OPenAL. The audio is then intercepted and transfered into my X-Meridian 7.1. Games sound rather good. I use the Audigy 2 as a gaming DSP and the XM as the output section. For music and movies the sound goes straight to the X-Meridian. I need to change nothing it is fully integrated.
My dealer sent me a message that he only had one X-Meridian left and since they are out of production I ordered it. So I got X-Meridian + 3pcs LM4562NA for the same Prize as the X-Prelude will be. With Velbac I should have a "perfect system".

You said you will make a new thread on Velbac as it seems to be interesting to many people. Care to write a HOW-TO so we can all get the same configuration working as you have (with ease)? I will surely try it anyway when I get the Meridian...

- Automatically feeding gamesounds with EAX from Audigy -> To a better quality card
- Automatically use "The better quality card" for Movies and Music
- Let me choose which cards mic input I want to use with TS2, Ventrilo etc.

Thx Robscix, your help is much appreciated all the way on the other side of the Globe ;)
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 08:17 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Also, we are currently working on and testing out the Vista version of the application. In which case you would need to be running ALchemy and Velbac. Velbac has a very small footprint and is very,very low latency or else it would be of no use. Your in for some great sound with the X-Meridian.
I will get to the how-to. I am very busy at the moment. it will be posted for you though.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2008, 04:10 PM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 348

My System Specs

Default

I do wonder, if one can drop Creative bloatware "drivers" for the X-Fi and use drivers for THIS card instead. After all, it is the same chip, so... maybe...?

/me hope they made the drivers nicer, eh... :)

PS. the caps does not look that they are audio grade, witch is a shame. I would expect that they use Black Gate or Elna RSF caps, or at least Nichicon FG audio caps...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auzen X-Fi Prelude akeela84 Audio 26 February 24, 2008 11:30 AM
Auzen X-Fi Prelude Comment thread Robscix Audio 93 December 25, 2007 12:44 AM
Problem with Auzen X-Fi Prelude redrain85 Audio 9 December 23, 2007 12:39 PM
Final Auzen X-FI Prelude Production Pics! Robscix Audio 21 August 19, 2007 10:48 AM
Auzen X-fi Prelude Specifications! Robscix Audio 8 May 25, 2007 10:20 AM