Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 01:48 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Err what?

I am confused by what you are doing here?

Can you please explain.
I have my Macbook Pro outputting 2 channel PCM in to the optical input on my Xonar D2X. It I plug the MacBook Pro directly in my receiver, it plays in stereo as it should. But if I plug it in to my Xonar it plays over all 6 channels. Which I would prefer it just to be in 2 channels. Hope that makes sense.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 01:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yes, you already said this, but what software on the Mac?

IMHO sounds liek a config issue...you haven't got PCM selected in Xonar panel, as well as source being 2 channel. I do the same thing to get audio into Logic on PC, from Logic on Mac, no problems.

Logic is audio-creation software, BTW, for those that do not know.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 01:54 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I have my Macbook Pro outputting 2 channel PCM in to the optical input on my Xonar D2X. It I plug the MacBook Pro directly in my receiver, it plays in stereo as it should. But if I plug it in to my Xonar it plays over all 6 channels. Which I would prefer it just to be in 2 channels. Hope that makes sense.
Vista audio enhancements revealed - Ars Technica
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 02:17 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Yes, you already said this, but what software on the Mac?

IMHO sounds liek a config issue...you haven't got PCM selected in Xonar panel, as well as source being 2 channel. I do the same thing to get audio into Logic on PC, from Logic on Mac, no problems.

Logic is audio-creation software, BTW, for those that do not know.
Every program really. Safari, iTunes, VLC. I don't do any recording or anything. I just like to take advantage of having a soundcard that sounds better as well as an EQ.

The only PCM option i see is for digital output, which I don't use. I only use the optical input.


Here is how I have it setup.

As you can see DSP mode is set to none, yet for some reason its still in 5.1 for everything coming in over the optical input.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 02:18 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
those options don't exist in the sound control panel.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 02:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

No, but they are in the IVsta "recording devices" panel.


Also, you have xonar configured for 6-channel in, and 5.1 out...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 03:23 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
No, but they are in the IVsta "recording devices" panel.


Also, you have xonar configured for 6-channel in, and 5.1 out...
Where is recording devices? The only recording options I can find are in the Sound preferences in Control Panel.

That is the thing every time I want to watch a movie/tv show I have to switch it from 2 channel to 5.1 which is rather annoying.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another UPS rant SugarJ Off Topic 15 January 19, 2009 09:08 PM
Rant about RFD Varroa Off Topic 14 November 24, 2008 09:10 AM
Ugh! political rant incoming! encorp Off Topic 10 November 4, 2008 07:33 AM
eastbay rant... omgwtf Off Topic 4 November 1, 2008 10:23 PM
Rant + Anger = Car Broken into last night CMetaphor Off Topic 39 July 26, 2008 05:02 PM