Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 05:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default Auzentech Prelude question

Hi.

Got a question for Prelude owners (and others).
The only usable PCI slot on my motherboard is placed right above the PCI-E slot for the graphic card, so Ive been worried if it could be a problem to fit a Prelude in, especially considering the small heatsink on the x-fi chip.
I havent been able to find any measures of the cards height.

My MB is Asus P5Q-E, would post a link to a picture of it, but I can do that since this is my first post it seems :D See post below.

The lower PCI slot is sadly taken out by the GPU cooler, so only the top one is an option.

Well, my question is, should there be enough room for the Prelude to fit in? And could there be any problems having it so close to the GPU (like static noise in the sound)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 05:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

http://www.hardware.info/images/news/asus_p5qe_550.jpg
The picture.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 05:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

You'll be fine as long as you have good air flow across your case to keep your GPU cooled.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 06:29 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

No worries. I actually had a similar setup on my board at one point. The sound card is low-profile enough that there's no danger of it hitting the back of the GPU, unless your video card's got memory chips on the back and you've stuck aftermarket ramsinks onto those chips. I never had any issues with static or interference either.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 06:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Ok, thanks.
Airflow for the GPU (HD4870) should be enough. Using aftermarket heatsink/fan, and intake fan blowing air right into it too. Both running quite low speed, but GPU temps are the least of my worries.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 07:03 PM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

Please be it known that the preflude has a crappy mic, unusable. I have one now that is catchign dust as i use TS alot, and if I use onboard drivers they conflict even iof all disbaled but mic. SO I have a Prelude 7.1 catching dust.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 07:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Hm. Googled Prelude and mic and found this:

"MIC performance with Ventrilo and Teamspeak improved" in one of the driver updates (RC7), if it has been a long time since you tried it.

Seems weird if this should be a general unfixable problem, havent heard it mentioned before, though the google search showed lots of posting about issues (but then google can find you any problem for any hardware you want really :D). Would be bad if it still got issues, since I do use Ventrilo a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 08:10 PM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

November 26th wa slast update from Auzentech support. I used the latest drivers in Vista 64.

I also had lots of sound skipping issues in CIV4, again I had so many issues with onvboard drivers not liking the Auzentech I can't be sure what caused what issue.

How ever if you have a EAX5.0 game? or really high quality music? the sound was UNREAL.

I was expecting a reply I will repost after the holidays as if they were not going to give me a refund I will put card up for sale.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 08:28 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

It will fit just fine, thats how I have my X-FI plugged in, above the GPU, actually.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auzentech Prelude questions Zeroman_IR Audio 13 November 5, 2008 04:15 PM
FS: Auzentech Prelude X-Fi PCI SoundCard btdvox Buy/Sell & Trade 1 August 19, 2008 08:27 PM
Auzentech Prelude Vs X-Fi Titanium TuX Audio 11 August 4, 2008 10:14 AM
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude richuwo11 Audio 10 September 29, 2007 08:30 PM