Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 10:24 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,101

My System Specs

Default Optical SPDIF cable

Anyone got a cheap source for an Optical SPDIF cable? I want to try using one to hook up my PC to my older Sony 5.1 receiver which only has RCA plugs and 1 Optical SPDIF in.

If this works, I'm going to try hooking up to my 46" Aquos via HDMI and using this receiver for some killer CoD:WaW action. I plan to get dizzy and annoy the neighbors one night real soon.

Thanks,
Sugar
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 10:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

buy the cheapest you can that wqill reach...PC stores are best for this...like $5 for a short one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 10:37 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,101

My System Specs

Default

Thanks cadaveca, I couldn't find anything on NCIX under $40. A little much for an experiment, for me anyway. I'll be able to put the pc right beside the stand, so 3' should do it. I'll try Walnut Grove computers tomorrow, 2 minutes from my work.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 10:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

London Drugs.

Buy the cheapest RCA cable you can find :P
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 11:33 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,101

My System Specs

Default

Nope, optical SPDIF, not Coaxial. I have tons of component RCA cables, but I need the Fiberoptic SPDIF cable. Uses a toslink connector. I think I found a Rocketfish one at Bestbuy.ca for $23.

That or I figure out how to pass sound through my ATI 4870 and a DVI - HDMI cable. I looked at my board, couldn't see any sound in connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 11:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

Oh sorry... well any optic cable will work from what I've read or seen.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 04:52 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,630

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Nope, optical SPDIF, not Coaxial. I have tons of component RCA cables, but I need the Fiberoptic SPDIF cable. Uses a toslink connector. I think I found a Rocketfish one at Bestbuy.ca for $23.



That or I figure out how to pass sound through my ATI 4870 and a DVI - HDMI cable. I looked at my board, couldn't see any sound in connectors.
Assuming your card came with a HDMI adapter, unless something has changed, you shouldn't need anything to pass audio through HDMI from your vid card. Unlike Nvidia's method of passing through audio, there should be built-in 5.1 audio on the card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 08:33 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,101

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Assuming your card came with a HDMI adapter, unless something has changed, you shouldn't need anything to pass audio through HDMI from your vid card. Unlike Nvidia's method of passing through audio, there should be built-in 5.1 audio on the card.
Well, I couldn't find anything about that in Diamond's oh-so-inclusive 6 page booklet. And my card came with a DVI-HDMI Dongle, but I'm using an Ion DVI-HDMI cable. So does this mean there's actually a sound chip on the card, or does it pass-through from your onboard or discrete sound sound? Any further information you could pass to me would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 08:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

audio is built-in, but it sucks, no eax or the like, so you are better off to use soundcard and HDMI just for video. I do exactly this, and have headhones for when someone is using the TV.

I use one of these:

Startech Thin Toslink to Miniplug Digital Audio Cable, 3ft. at Memory Express Computers

but also a regular RCA cable too, sometimes.


I really do not like teh ATI onboard audio, as well, using just HDMI would require your TV has an optical pass-through for the audio, and not all TVs have this(mine does, but doesn't work right).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 08:59 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,101

My System Specs

Default

Thanks again Dave, for the explanation and also that cable is exactly what I need. My TV does have a pass-through, but I'd rather bypass it and plug directly to the receiver. Cheers. I don't mind spending $10 to try this out.

I just clued in that the High Definition Audio device I see in Device Manager would be the onboard audio on the ATI card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes