Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 4, 2008, 09:26 PM
MVP

Default Anyone have a Zune?

I was in the Penticton walmart a couple of weeks ago and I saw they were selling the new generation of Zunes. I was floored by the prices they are selling the 120 gig for 199. I am not an expert on mp3 players by any means but after playing with it at my local futureshop it seems like a really nice ipod alternative, and the affordability is a huge factor. I just would love to hear the good and bads from some people that actually own them. One of the main things I am wondering is if it would be drag and drop simple for transfering and playing movies.
Old October 4, 2008, 09:28 PM
Hall Of Fame

Unfortunately no.

Zune and iPod require their own special software.

But in all honesty the Zune is a MUCH more better player than the iPod in my opinion.
Old October 5, 2008, 05:50 AM
MVP

My System Specs

I got a Zune 80 on Canada's release day after 5 years of using the iPod. Really, both of the players do their job. As enaberif said, you will be required to use their own special software, so you cannot simply drag and drop. Compared with an iPod Classic 160GB, I found that the Zune did better at everything over the iPod. The only thing that I didnt like is the lack of an EQ, but the stock sound is awesome, so really, I shouldn't complain on this point.

Zune has a larger screen, so naturally, its better at watching movies and pictures than the iPod. But still, its painful watching a movie on a screen that small.

Zune software's interface is awesome, miles more attractive and interactive than iTunes, but IMO, iTunes was better at organizing music at a much larger scale, of course you will get used to whichever program you use.

The quality of the stock earphones of the Zune is better than the iPod, and looks durable (It is an IEM). It sounds all that great IMO, but sounds much better than the iPod stock headphones.