Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 2, 2008, 09:44 PM
Top Prospect

Default Auzentek Prelude?

I really want to pick up a par of Tritton AX 360's as my saitek POS headphones broke.
I would like to take advantage of the optical quality, so I am considering picking up the prelude as it seems like a great card (140 at ncix right now after rebate). I do however have some concerns as I am running vista 64 bit, and i have heard some mixed things about sound cards being useless with the removal of the HAL or something, but something else about alchemy being able to work around it.
ALL help and better suggestions are greatly appreciated.

PS. I am currently in my first year for my B.Sc. in engineering so i do not get to work much and make much money, so value is a factor. Also, if something better will be coming around soon, and it would be much better to wait a while, I am fine with that too.
Old October 2, 2008, 09:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I have Vista 64 bit, and I installed my prelude on monday. Result : No problem!

1 - cleaned all my audio drivers and rebooted
2 - installed the new auzentech drivers
3 - I had select the mic in the control panel (It's not the mic on default setting)

Done!

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Old October 3, 2008, 07:48 AM
Allstar

The driver issuse have been sorted out for Vista X64.
WHat you may want to consider though is the PRelude will definatley have higher quality DAC's then what is present in the decoder of those headphones. -So using optical to those headphones would actually be a downgrade from straight analog.
People have been finding this even with A/V receivers and the Prelude. The DAC's are high quality.....
Not to mention the PRelude has one of the best heapdhones routines for gaming avialable that provides virtual surround sound.
Hope this helps.
Old October 4, 2008, 11:02 AM
Top Prospect