Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2008, 09:44 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default Auzentek Prelude?

I really want to pick up a par of Tritton AX 360's as my saitek POS headphones broke.
I would like to take advantage of the optical quality, so I am considering picking up the prelude as it seems like a great card (140 at ncix right now after rebate). I do however have some concerns as I am running vista 64 bit, and i have heard some mixed things about sound cards being useless with the removal of the HAL or something, but something else about alchemy being able to work around it.
ALL help and better suggestions are greatly appreciated.

PS. I am currently in my first year for my B.Sc. in engineering so i do not get to work much and make much money, so value is a factor. Also, if something better will be coming around soon, and it would be much better to wait a while, I am fine with that too.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2008, 09:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

I have Vista 64 bit, and I installed my prelude on monday. Result : No problem!

1 - cleaned all my audio drivers and rebooted
2 - installed the new auzentech drivers
3 - I had select the mic in the control panel (It's not the mic on default setting)

Done!
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 07:48 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

The driver issuse have been sorted out for Vista X64.
WHat you may want to consider though is the PRelude will definatley have higher quality DAC's then what is present in the decoder of those headphones. -So using optical to those headphones would actually be a downgrade from straight analog.
People have been finding this even with A/V receivers and the Prelude. The DAC's are high quality.....
Not to mention the PRelude has one of the best heapdhones routines for gaming avialable that provides virtual surround sound.
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 11:02 AM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

So would it be better to just get a nice pair of regular headphones and simulate surround?
And if so what would you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 11:10 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

I have been using the HD595's as my review reference headphones and they sound quite nice. However there are many great sets of headphones. Grado's, Sennheiser, Audio-technica..etc.
I suggest you do some research. ALso remember that is you get high end headphones many of them are high impedacne and therefor will require a seperate headphone amplifier. Use 150 ohm as the guilde line:
Any set under 150 is ok just connected to the card and set over 150 will need a headphone amplifier....for use with this card. That is a general guideline and you can get a amp for the sale of haveing more power..etc
when your looing up headphones look under: Impedance. Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 11:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Rob,

Do you think an amp would be required with a pair of PC350 from Sens?
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 02:09 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Good to know. Thanks for the info Rob.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 02:51 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

yeah, I'd really rather not have to use an amp I'm really not that much of an audiophile. All i really need is something that's comfortable with a good mic, maybe good bass for that extra immersion. I also dont have hundreds of dollars to blow on a headset.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 03:37 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

You can go with a set that has been designed for "gaming" -with a mic attached or a set that has been built for "music" woth the mic and you can always get a desktop microphone.. The Grado SR80's are about $80-$90 and they are considered very good headphones for the price. Just look around at some local shops or online stores and see what you can find in your price range.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 12:41 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

I'm just not sure if it would be better to get headphones with 5.1 or regular.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes