Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 20, 2008, 12:12 AM
Rookie

Default Need help mounting a fan

I have a Thermaltake armor+ case and I got a fan for the top exhaust... but in order to screw in the fan i need to take some pin things out and take off the top of my case. I have no experience building computers so i said f it.. so now my only real option is tape... I don't want to use Duck tape because it will look ugly and be sticky so maybe wire tape? does anyone have any better ideas for sticking a fan on the top of the case?

edit: or should i just get really big screws?

Thanks

Last edited by Kentalish; July 20, 2008 at 12:22 AM.
Old July 20, 2008, 01:56 AM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentalish View Post
I have a Thermaltake armor+ case and I got a fan for the top exhaust... but in order to screw in the fan i need to take some pin things out and take off the top of my case. I have no experience building computers so i said f it.. so now my only real option is tape... I don't want to use Duck tape because it will look ugly and be sticky so maybe wire tape? does anyone have any better ideas for sticking a fan on the top of the case?

edit: or should i just get really big screws?

Thanks
How about zip-ties? Tape is a really bad idea. Eventually, it'll let go... and drop..possibly doing damage on it's way(spinning) down. I think you should retry taking the top off and mount the fan properly. If there are plastic "tabs", you just carefully push them inwards, and upwards at the same time. You'll have to do each one at a time. Then putting it back on is a breeze.. they just snap into place. Even if, god-forbid.. one of them broke, it wouldn't be that much of a deal..not like a front panel clip(gravity would keep it down). Anyways, GL in which ever way you do it... just don't use elastics.
Old July 20, 2008, 03:20 AM
Allstar

My System Specs