Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 07:19 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Thats great to know. No need to redo the whole thing..
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 09:47 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Woohoo! I finished! I am so proud.. Time to grab a beer.

My CPU isn't shiny at all, but my ultra 120, ITS AWESOME! I don't really care if my CPU is shiny or not, as long as its flat.

I'll post some pics in the next post because I need to upload them.


Also, something that is totally off topic, is it okay to have some MX-2 in the CPU socket pins? it got in when I took out the CPU.. Looks like I put on too much TIM..


EDIT: Looks like you guys won't be getting any pictures.. The camera's dead.. (Literally)

Last edited by Infiniti; July 10, 2008 at 09:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 05:46 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Also, something that is totally off topic, is it okay to have some MX-2 in the CPU socket pins? it got in when I took out the CPU.. Looks like I put on too much TIM..
Help, anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 06:12 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Help, anyone?
I wouldn't like to have it there. But apparently it's non-conductive.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 06:57 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

So that means its okay if its in there right? Because I was in this situation once already, but this time with MX-2. It was AS5 last time, so that made me worry. But maybe MX-2 should be fine... Anyone know for sure?
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 07:04 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

Its not conductive but you dont really want it in the socket. If you find a very fine paint brush and apply some arctic clean (or something like that to it) and carefully brush it off the pins. Leave the pins to dry before adding the chip perhaps.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 07:12 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Damn.. I guess I should just use some aerosol contact cleaner to spray it off.. Thanks for all the help though, I really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 08:09 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

AS5 is technically non-conductive, actually (the silver particles are in suspension). The problem is that it's capacitive, which will cause problems if it gets into the socket. MX-2 claims to be both non-conductive and non-capacitive, so theoretically you should be just fine. In your place, I'd still be trying to clean it out, but if you don't get every last spec, I wouldn't be losing any sleep over it.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 08:42 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
AS5 is technically non-conductive, actually (the silver particles are in suspension). The problem is that it's capacitive, which will cause problems if it gets into the socket. MX-2 claims to be both non-conductive and non-capacitive, so theoretically you should be just fine. In your place, I'd still be trying to clean it out, but if you don't get every last spec, I wouldn't be losing any sleep over it.
+1

What he said.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 08:47 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
AS5 is technically non-conductive, actually (the silver particles are in suspension). The problem is that it's capacitive, which will cause problems if it gets into the socket. MX-2 claims to be both non-conductive and non-capacitive, so theoretically you should be just fine. In your place, I'd still be trying to clean it out, but if you don't get every last spec, I wouldn't be losing any sleep over it.
So, I should really just make sure that the stuff aren't on the tips of the pins which will touch the CPU, right? If they are on the bottom, it should be fine, right?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes