Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 12:56 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

Damn you want the rig in another room so you can hear yourself think, all other case fans will have their bearings stripped by being forced to go faster than the can by the wind vortex that will be generated. Make sure you "super-glue" all of your jumpers down! Nice way to clean the case out though, but make sure you have a filter on the inlet and watch the cat.
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 01:05 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

That's why I'm planning on order 100ft of tubing. WC rig is going downstairs. Monitor/KB/Mouse are going upstairs.

I'm also gonna tape 8 to a small pig to see if I can make him fly.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 07:12 AM
Mulder's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 112
Default

Deltas move loads of air, sure they make lots of noise to, they also do some serious damage if you stick your finger into one of them. I had an older delta fan for a heat sink on a P3 and one of my friends stuck his finger into it and the fan exploded and he received some very nice cuts. Delta's are also annoyingly loud that 60-80db fan scream is 24/7/365 and your going to hear it a few rooms away from you pc and it's going to be constantly running.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 04:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

I normally say fan grills are for sissies, but I took precautions and ordered enough to cover each side. Just in case...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 04:03 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I have a vantec tornado that flys if it is not fastened to something. Havent used it years though, can't handle the noise.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 04:17 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

D-H.....100ft tubing....are you MAD??? How many pumps do you have.....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 04:30 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default



I re-read the small flying pig joke to make sure I read right. LOL
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 06:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

I'm ordering a 3rd CPU block. Why? It was cheap.
It only works out to about 33ft per computer...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 06:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_hawk View Post
I'm ordering a 3rd CPU block. Why? It was cheap.
It only works out to about 33ft per computer...
I see your 8 deltas and raise you 550cfm
RP Electronics - Test Instruments , Power Supplies , Inverters , Electronic Project Kits and more!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 09:04 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

The sad thing is, that beast of a fan has about the same power consumption and less noise. Quite a bit lower static pressure though. You need raw rpms to generate that.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes