Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 02:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC
Posts: 24
Default looking for a fan contoller

Hey I am new here!

I am looking for a fan controller preferably a 4 dial

I am getting 6 fans and was wondering if i could hookup 2 fans to 1 dial because both of those fans are on my heatsink.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 02:15 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default


Last edited by FreqE1; June 29, 2008 at 02:17 AM. Reason: double post
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 02:16 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Here is an affordable controller made by Sunbeam. It's fairly plain but does have 4 dial and can handle 20 watts per channel.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=Sunbeam

If you'd like something with more wow factor or features scroll through this page;

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?minorcatid=1112

Last edited by FreqE1; June 29, 2008 at 02:25 AM. Reason: added 2nd link
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 02:25 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I perfer the Scythe fan controller, its not available at DC or NCIX, but its available at Anitec.

Link: Anitec.ca - Scythe Kaze Master 5.25" (Black) 4-Channel Fan Controller & Temperature Display
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 02:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC
Posts: 24
Default

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...facture=Scythe

edit i am going to get the sunbeam thanks for pointing that out.. so is there a tutorial or anything that can show me how to connect 2 fans to 1 channel?

thanks for the help

Last edited by Kentalish; June 29, 2008 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 02:50 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Well I have the sunbeam one, http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=Sunbeam and it works good for me. Have it in my Antec 900 case and one of the dials controls both front fans.

But after looking at that Scythe one, as long as it works I would prefer it, at least in the looks department.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 03:10 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

I just ordered the Sunbeam for myself yesterday. It's strange but that Sythe almost anded up in my cart. From what I've read the bottom line of text is really green rather than blue as the photo shows, and it would flash zeros as I don't like the extra wires required for the temp monitors.

I have an Antec 1200 and took the blue LEDs out of the three front fans and am using them to replace all the green LEDs in my periphials so the Sythe would wreck my theme.

Kentalish,
they sell a two into one 3 pin fan adapter wire but I can't seem to find a link right now. You could always solder two fans together. Solder black to black, red to red and yellow to yellow.

I found the splitter at NCIX http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...STARTECH%2ECOM

They are currently not in stock though.

Last edited by FreqE1; June 29, 2008 at 03:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 03:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC
Posts: 24
Default

what would i search to find that adapter because i googled that and nothing came up
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 03:26 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

If you go to shopbot.ca type this into the search field TX3SPLITTER . One place has a picture so you can see it but they want $14 freakin' dollars:rtfm:.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 03:27 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreqE1 View Post
I just ordered the Sunbeam for myself yesterday. It's strange but that Sythe almost anded up in my cart. From what I've read the bottom line of text is really green rather than blue as the photo shows, and it would flash zeros as I don't like the extra wires required for the temp monitors.
I currently have the Scythe fan controller, and the bottom line of text is blue from my angle. It is at the bottom of my desk and I can actually see the numbers quite clearly. If you don't plug in the temp probes, they wouldn't flash zero, they would just be 0.0C, no flashing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes