Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2008, 05:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default Antec 900 Stock Case Fans

Hey, I'm new to these forums, and I am in need of an answer.

I am highly considering the Antec 900 case, and I have questions about the stock fans that are included with this case:

I know they have a 3 speed setting on them, but I want to know if they can work with a Fan Speed Controller, like the Sunbeam Rheobus.

And what does Antec provide to change the speeds of the fans, and if it is a 3 speed controller, does it fit in a 5.25" or 3.5" drive bay?

Also, I have heard that Antec provides an extra 3 fans because they found out that the original ones had problems, is this true?

Thanks so much,

Cody.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2008, 05:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure it's just a switch attached to the fan.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2008, 06:31 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

It's a drawback to the 900 case, the fans are strickly a 4 pin molex and an attached switch about 4" long, I replaced the switches with 3 pin connectors so they could be plugged to mobo, a bit of a pain but it works. The CoolerMaster CM690 is another choice and less money too.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2008, 10:58 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

I have that case and a Sunbeam Rheobus to control the fans. I currently have that controller set up to control the two front fans together, then the back, top and optional side fan are have their own control. And that set up works great.

So yes you can do it. As kruznevr said the fans have the 4 pin molex for power and the attached 3 speed switches are about 3-4" long connected right to the fans themselves.

If you do get it and attach the fans to a controller the key is just setting the fan switches to the highest setting and that will let the controller do the work.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2008, 12:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the help guys.

I am so relieved that all I need to get now is a 4-3 pin adapter, I thought I was going to have to solder new wires and play around with it, but I guess not!

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes