Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2012, 09:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 22
Exclamation new noctua nh-c14+ none of my case fans not running at start up?

The title says it all. Should i wait a few minutes??? Will my i5 3570k overheat??
BTW i just built my computer...... i plug the 3pin to the 4 pin header on mb........ i JUST used a 2 to 1 adapter for both fans (noctua nh-c14) because it's easier to wire up..... but THAT shouldn't be the problem right? .... i plugged the 2 to 1 adapter to the cpu fan header on mb too ....any ideas?

This is my first time building a computer... sorry for silly mistakes =D

Last edited by TimidTeddy; June 22, 2012 at 09:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2012, 09:25 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,381

My System Specs

Default

Does the fan run on any other fan headers? the fan should come on know matter if the cpu is hot or cold just as long as the motherboard has power connected from the psu
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2012, 09:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 22
Default

This is very funny.... i mean i can go to bios ..... but no fans run... no case fans .... not the noctua nh-c14 heatsink....... idk what's wrong... i plugged everything in ...... i'm soooo confused here are my system spec if it helps

gigabyte z77x-ud3h
i5 3570k
noctua nh-c14
corsair 550d case
corsair vx550watts power supply
crucial m4 128gb ssd
kingston hyperx 8gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2012, 10:36 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,381

My System Specs

Default

I have never heard of that happening before, have you tried only having one fan plugged in What I would do is pull the motherboard and set it on something outside of the case then try it there you .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2012, 02:22 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

Hmm. I had this happen with my wifes Dell Studio 540 the other day when I removed the heatsink and cpu for cleaning. There was a piece of dust under the cpu between the cpu and the socket after I cleaned it up. It wasn't detecting the cpu. Maybe you are in the same boat. Maybe try removing the heatsink and check to make sure the cpu is seated properly and nothing is between the pins and the socket.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start FAH, Stop FAH, Start FAH, FREEZE! frontier204 Troubleshooting 5 June 23, 2013 09:02 AM
[FS] Noctua NH-D14, Noctua NC-U6, Thermaltake Spirit RS alexroland Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 11, 2010 01:09 PM
need help with i7/x58 start up kruzn4evr Troubleshooting 7 January 19, 2009 09:08 AM
About to start RainMaker New Builds 5 January 16, 2009 12:02 PM
Noctua-News: Noctua introduces NH-U9B CPU cooler Scotch Tape Press Releases & Tech News 1 February 25, 2008 06:33 AM