Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 05:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default Heatsink problem

Hi guys,

I am some terrible luck with my heatsink, Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme with a Panaflo fan on an E8400, stock temps @ idle come to about $40-43C, and that is totally stock, no OC at all.. I want to test it with the stock Intel heatsink to see if its any better.. I bought the E8400 from eldonko, its running superb so I doubt its the processor..

This TRUE is lapped, I used the same lapped heatsink with my E6600 with some amazing temps, the E6600 used to run btw 25-30C idle.. So using the same heatsink with the E8400, dunno what's going on..

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Nforce 680I
Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2 PC2-8500 2GB (2X1GB) DDR2-1066
XFX 8800GTS 512MB
WD 250GBx4 RAID 0 (WD250KS), Seagate 500GB SATA2.
Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000w
Gigabyte Aurora 570 case

That's my rig, and I also checked I have the latest BIOS for my board... I almost sick of this, I almost went to buy Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro but I'm sure this TRUE is capable of much more..

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 05:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

What kind of results do you get with the stock intel heatsink?

Maybe your new CPU isn't flat?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 05:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Which software are you using?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 05:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Your temps are fine.

I've got a 38mm x 120mm Sycthe Kraze on my Ultra 120 and I'm about 43-44' idle and about 56 or so under load.

Its not the idle that matters, its how it performs under load which is where the 120 shines.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 05:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
What kind of results do you get with the stock intel heatsink?

Maybe your new CPU isn't flat?
Probably, but I guess most of the Intel processors are not flat...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Which software are you using?
I used Everest, speedfan, core temp, HW Monitor..

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Your temps are fine.

I've got a 38mm x 120mm Sycthe Kraze on my Ultra 120 and I'm about 43-44' idle and about 56 or so under load.

Its not the idle that matters, its how it performs under load which is where the 120 shines.
Well but most of the people I've seen using an E8400, run idle @ 30-35C, mine's about 10C more, and I understand what you say enaberif, but I mean if the idle temps are so high, I don't wanna fry something..

And I also thought that the new intel processors were supposed to run cooler..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 07:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

People with sub 40 temps are usually water cooled or in a very cold room :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 09:24 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,747
Default

Miggs, for the new 45nm CPUs those temp programs read wrong. Use Realtemp Real Temp - New temp program for Intel Core processors - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 11:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Well... to give you some idea..

HWMonitor:
Core 0 = 43'
Core 1 = 45'

RealTemp:
Core 0 = 32'
Core 1 = 32'

Everest:
Core 0 = 45'
Core 1 = 45'

---

Who do you believe? :P
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 12:26 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,747
Default

The reason I only trust RealTemp is because of my stock idle temps, watercooled of course. When HWmonitor is reading 49 degrees idle at 1.22V, with my watercooling, then something is off. Real temp reads a more reasonable 33-35 idle. Makes sense to me
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2008, 04:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Could be a stuck sensor too.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes