Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 06:37 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default 4-Channel Fan Controller w/ Multiple Fans Per Channel

Hey guys,

I finally finished my build, but have run into a small problem.

I purchased a Scythe Kazemaster II 4-Channel Fan Controller

I have 3 fans hooked up to 2 of the 4 channels. The other two channels have 1 fan each. I can control the fan speed of the 2 channels with 1 fan hooked up. The 2 channels with 3 fans hooked up each I am unable to control the fan speed.

channel 1 - Yate Loon 120mm Fan
Channel 2 - Bitfenix Spectre Pro 200mm Fan
Channel 3 - 3 x Yate Loon 120mm Fans (Can't adjust speed)
Channel 4 - 3 x Gentle Typhoon AP-15 120mm Fans. (Can't adjust speed)

What is the reason for this? Too many amps per channel?

Last edited by JoeOnePack; June 11, 2012 at 02:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2012, 06:33 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

bump? Anyone know of a solution?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2012, 07:41 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like its pulling to much amperage.... have you pulled all but one fan off those 2 problem channels to check?
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2012, 08:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,238

My System Specs

Default

The channels on that are rated for 1A so you should at least be fine with the YLs (pretty sure they're rated for .3A). How do you have them wired up? Do you have a proper 3 pin fan header splitter, or are you daisy chaining the molex connectors? I'm not sure if that would make a difference but I've got both my scythe's (strangely enough, only .25A despite being a much more powerful fan than my YL 1350s) running off of a single channel on the 3.5" version of that fan controller with no problems.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2012, 09:00 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,962

My System Specs

Default

Pwm fan splitter ?

Gellid look on Ebay canada.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2012, 07:59 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
Sounds like its pulling to much amperage.... have you pulled all but one fan off those 2 problem channels to check?
I am going to try that today. I am almost 100% positive that they work with a single fan hooked up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The channels on that are rated for 1A so you should at least be fine with the YLs (pretty sure they're rated for .3A). How do you have them wired up? Do you have a proper 3 pin fan header splitter, or are you daisy chaining the molex connectors? I'm not sure if that would make a difference but I've got both my scythe's (strangely enough, only .25A despite being a much more powerful fan than my YL 1350s) running off of a single channel on the 3.5" version of that fan controller with no problems.
I'm sure the Yate's and GT's both are .3A I believe. I am using a 4-Way Gelid PWM splitter for each set of 3 fans. So, one splitter is not connected for each set of fans.

I also notice how the 3 Yate's don't run as smooth as the single yate on the rear of the case.

I think I may be better off with a true 8-channel fan controller. I just can't seem to find a 5.25 version with some sort of display.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 04:13 PM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

I love my lamptron fc5v1. No power issues there.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 05:38 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaughter View Post
I love my lamptron fc5v1. No power issues there.
Grrr. Wanna sell it? Along with a 3.5" to 5.25" bracket?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Triple Channel on a Dual Channel Server Soullessone21 RAM 2 May 8, 2012 03:05 PM
Solved: Single-channel instead of Dual-Channel WesByNorthWest Troubleshooting 10 September 24, 2011 08:19 AM
[WTB] 3-pin Fan Splitter (3-way) tragd Buy/Sell & Trade 4 September 19, 2010 12:09 PM
CPU Fan Splitter Plug FreeKnight Air Cooling 5 February 8, 2010 08:53 AM
Fan Controller : Can you use a Splitter? BobbyLou Air Cooling 5 December 8, 2009 10:57 AM