Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 09:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 154
Default

Update: I believe I have a proper push/pull setup now. However, I could only reduce temps slightly. Temps initated at boot up at 42 degrees and were going up to 44.5 degrees after a few minutes (maybe 5?).

This seems a bit high. Not alarmingly so but still.... The cpu is the Intel LGA775 Q6600 G0 stepping.

Can anyone comment? This is with air cooling... Can I expect any lower with the closed loop, liquid cooling of the H50/H60?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 09:57 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

What cooler are you running now?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2012, 10:27 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
What cooler are you running now?
TRUE 120. Thanks for replying.

I'm not sure how to re-set the heat sink and I read someplace that some ppl use a washer to add more weight to the base/bracket.

I'm wondering if this should be the time I just switch coolers! LOL! Do you know of any how-to instructions for installing a H60 that includes pictures? For LGA775 hardware, of course.

I guess I need to find my instructions or download them for the TRUE if I'm going to try to add more thermal paste. If it only reduces it a few degrees, though, then I think it's time to try liquid cooling. At least, if I buy a H60, for e.g., I can move it to a new (e.g. 1155) build some day.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2012, 10:55 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

The TRUE was the shiz in its day, you may want to look at temp comparisons for H60 etc vs Noctua NH-D14.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2012, 11:28 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 917

My System Specs

Default

Thats a little high for a Q6600 at stock speeds (you didn't mention you OC'ed yet?),

I had one and it ran quite nice but easily low 30's or better and that was with stock cooler I believe and I got even better once i put on Noctua CPU HSF.

I'd recommend taking off the cooler, cleaning the CPU and the cooler (remove all the Heat Sink Paste), reapply (there is a nice thread on best method for applying Heat Sink Paste).

After this make sure you mount it correctly the HSF back onto the CPU.

I've had to do this a few times where the CPU & HSF were picky and it would take a couple times of fiddling with mounting to make sure it was performing properly.

Feel free though to google as well Q6600 Idle Temps and I'm sure you'll get lots of results as that was a very popular CPU back in the day. If you do decide to OC I've heard 2.8-3.2GHz is the best range.
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 09:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 154
Default

So, I can do this without removing the motherboard from the case? I thought you need access to the other side of the case but that's just for a full dis-assembly, right?

I need to buy some thermal paste to try this. Is Arctic Silver 5 good enough or is the new Antec MX-2 a better buy? Most thermal paste, I would have to order and I thought if I am ordering online, I'd get the Corsair cooler in case this doesn't reduce the temps enough. I agree, 30C or less sounds about right for this cpu with aftermarket cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 09:34 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fubar View Post
So, I can do this without removing the motherboard from the case? I thought you need access to the other side of the case but that's just for a full dis-assembly, right?

I need to buy some thermal paste to try this. Is Arctic Silver 5 good enough or is the new Antec MX-2 a better buy? Most thermal paste, I would have to order and I thought if I am ordering online, I'd get the Corsair cooler in case this doesn't reduce the temps enough. I agree, 30C or less sounds about right for this cpu with aftermarket cooling.
MX 2 beast AS5 , if you can find some MX4, or OCZ freeze.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arctic Cooling Accelero TWIN TURBO Pro Cooling for GPUs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 November 16, 2009 01:51 PM
Passive cooling/silent cooling Cowboy Air Cooling 9 September 17, 2009 12:38 PM
Help me put my cooling together! blind_synergy New Builds 2 July 10, 2009 12:40 PM
Enough Cooling? Justin Cider Water Cooling 14 June 26, 2009 04:17 PM
TEC Cooling chibi_man Water Cooling 10 November 9, 2007 05:40 PM