Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2011, 03:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default 5.25 Mount For Case Fan

Okay, so my case is the CM 690 II Advanced. It has one 140mm intake fan in the front. I was looking at installing another somehow, but the only space left in the front of the case is my 5.25 bays. There is more than enough room in the remaining three 5.25 bays to fit a 140mm fan, but there's no way of keeping it there. I'm wondering if there are any devices out there that fit into 5.25 bays that would allow me to mount a 140mm fan to it. If so, can somebody link me to where I could possibly buy one. Thanks in advance!

Sorry about the confusing description of what I'm looking for :p
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2011, 03:42 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

I believe this is what you're looking for: Scythe KAMA-BAY 120mm Fan for 5.25" System Cooling
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2011, 03:45 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 724
Default

Hmm...I did some Googling and it seem the max size is 120mm. Lian Li makes one just with fan (no HDD space) that takes up 3 slots.

Lian Li Industrial Co., Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2011, 04:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flemminr View Post
Okay, so my case is the CM 690 II Advanced. It has one 140mm intake fan in the front. I was looking at installing another somehow, but the only space left in the front of the case is my 5.25 bays. There is more than enough room in the remaining three 5.25 bays to fit a 140mm fan, but there's no way of keeping it there. I'm wondering if there are any devices out there that fit into 5.25 bays that would allow me to mount a 140mm fan to it. If so, can somebody link me to where I could possibly buy one. Thanks in advance!

Sorry about the confusing description of what I'm looking for :p
Is there a reason why anybody would actually be able to see what the fan mount looks like? If not, how about the next best thing to duct tape.... plastic tie wraps (zap straps as I call 'em.... ). 4 through the fan mounting holes on one side, and whatever space you can find in the 5 1/4 bay will do the trick, and as an added bonus.... it'll be free-floating thus reducing the possibility of fan vibration noise.........

Might be a bit gheto, but if nobody can see it, then qui cares????? ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2011, 10:39 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I believe this is what you're looking for: Scythe KAMA-BAY 120mm Fan for 5.25" System Cooling
Yes, something is exactly what I'm looking for. Only thing is that I wanted to hide it behind my bay covers. Are there any products that would like that?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2011, 10:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flemminr View Post
Yes, something is exactly what I'm looking for. Only thing is that I wanted to hide it behind my bay covers. Are there any products that would like that?
Thermaltakeusa**Chassis**Chassis Accessory**iCage : iCage A2309

Readily available for ~$15 in Canada as well. Unless you didn't want the hard drive cage behind it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 07:08 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

I used to have a few Kama Bays, they were great, but now impossible to find....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 08:14 AM
Smoothie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

MountingMods also has some available which I will be getting one. MountainMods.com - Search Results
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 08:17 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
I used to have a few Kama Bays, they were great, but now impossible to find....
That was going to be my first suggestion too, but now I can't find them anywhere either.
I should drop Linus a line and see if he knows if they still make them,

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 10:08 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

you should be able to just use zip ties through the screw hole and mount them to the hole in the 5.35 bay. Alternatively, you could also use double sided spongy tape.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mount and bleed a top mounted radiator in HAF X case kkkwj Water Cooling 11 November 7, 2010 06:27 PM
Mount PSU fan - Up Vs Down mjpd1983 Power Supplies 5 July 10, 2010 09:48 AM
top mount- bottom mount - does it make a difference? johnnyblazzwa Power Supplies 5 December 20, 2009 08:13 PM
[WTB] Fan screws to mount to case Lpfan4ever Buy/Sell & Trade 13 October 2, 2009 11:11 AM
sswilson's top mount rad + case window mod sswilson Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 49 January 5, 2008 09:42 PM