Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 07:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Default

I do not find it loud at all. Maybe thats my problem because its not spinning at the rpm it should be?

Anyway, I'm not really sure what else to do here about my temps. Its not a big problem, but would be nice to bring it down a slight notch from the 40-50s. Other than that, I might get a second fan for my hyper 212 and see how that goes. Anymore suggestions are welcome!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 10:28 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbear View Post
Ok, finally used prime95 to get some results. Used the settings Large FFTs with HT and 4 workers....whatever all that is :)
As RealTemp shows you only load 51% your CPU. 4 workers=4 cores. Misses HT I guess.
Anyway temps are perfect fine but for default frequencies and 1.10V Vcore that 50% load temp looks a little bit high. I wonder what's happening with some OC and 1.2-1.3V Vcore...
What's your room temperature?
Also you can take latest RealTemp beta and put GPU=2 in RealTemp.ini to have your ATI card temps.

BTW, HWMonitor shows that your CPU could power a nuclear plant.
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 08:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Room temp has been around 24-26C. I heard if I increase the voltage of my cpu fan in the bios, it'll speed up? So do you think the fans are running at the speed they should be? I think I'll download speedfan and see if I can do anything about them. Although, that might increase the noise which i don't think i mind. My case is pretty quiet which is nice. Also going to look into getting a second fan for the hyper 212 plus.

I just don't understand how people get results around 30-35c or whatever on an i7 930 with the hyper212 plus while mine is around mid 40s. But hey, if you guys say its normal, then i'll leave it at that :)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 09:27 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbear View Post
I just don't understand how people get results around 30-35c or whatever on an i7 930 with the hyper212 plus while mine is around mid 40s. But hey, if you guys say its normal, then i'll leave it at that :)
Idle temps don't mean anything and the sensors aren't even accurate that low. Who cares if your temps are slightly higher than someone else's as long as they are in a good range and your CPU is running fine and stably?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 12:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 189

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burebista View Post
BTW, HWMonitor shows that your CPU could power a nuclear plant.
His 12+v rail also only has like 8 volts of power.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 04:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Run a nuclear power plant? 8 volts of power? lol, i don't know if these are positive things or not :)

But in anycase, I guess I'll leave the temps at that since there isn't much else to do. I think I'll even get a second 120mm fan to mount on my hyper 212+ heatsink...maybe do like a push pull method instead of having them both blow directly at it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ performance on i7 marstedt Air Cooling 8 May 30, 2010 01:15 AM
hyper 212 plus install tips Rescue119 Air Cooling 19 May 7, 2010 08:32 AM
CM Hyper 212 Plus Question prozac26 Air Cooling 9 January 11, 2010 04:56 PM
Hyper 212+ Mounting Question DkRk New Builds 11 December 11, 2009 10:09 PM
AMD build help (hyper 212) bumfloss New Builds 6 September 9, 2009 04:34 PM