Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 12:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Default scythe ultrakaze 3000rpm

I have just received the fan and I'm wondering if I should plug it in the fan controller or mobo(ga-ma790fx-ds5). The fan is rated at 0.6A which is near the max. of the mfc3(0.7A per channel). I have no clue about what motherboard fan headers can take but I'm thinking not much.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 12:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if its a good mobo then no worries. i would,however, go for the fan controller and maybe drop a good k rpm's for the db's :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 12:44 PM
Smoothie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

I plugged mine right into the PSU for full RPM goodness. Two of them at full throttle makes an excellent excuse when you "accidentally" don't hear your wife.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 01:09 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Better motherboards can often put out 1A/header or more. The owner's manual will often mention it somewhere, even if you have do some searching for it.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 02:28 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

never had a problem with them on mb headers yet. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 02:51 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I've had mine on my motherboard headers.. until the jet plane took off, then hooked it up to a fan controller so I could hear myself think in the garage.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 03:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Got a suprisingly quick response from gigabyte. I was expecting to wait a week and apparently it 2.5A per header! Nice. Wow! who needs a fan controller...?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 04:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

2.5a?? lol. i can run me munstas off one, but not recommended.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scythe Katana3 Enough to OC? Luckk Air Cooling 11 November 9, 2009 04:18 PM
Scythe Ninja Copper +1! SugarJ Air Cooling 18 June 30, 2008 05:52 AM
Thermalright/Scythe missing b!ol Air Cooling 0 June 16, 2008 08:06 AM
WTB Scythe LGA 775 retention kit SCURK1 for Scythe Ninja Copper rom0n Buy/Sell & Trade 2 June 14, 2008 11:19 AM
Scythe Ninja --> Scythe Ninja Copper vinister Member Reviews 12 February 27, 2008 10:19 AM