Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 07:55 AM
Arcnor's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rossland, B.C.
Posts: 22
Question Motherboard Fan Headers

Hi all. Very inexperienced builder here.

I'm planning a build using the Silverstone FT02 case and Gigabyte GA-X58-UD5 motherboard, and I took another look at the fan setup of the case versus the number of fan headers on the motherboard -- from what I can tell, three fans can plug into the SYS_FAN_1, SYS_FAN_2, and NB_FAN headers, but can the fourth fan that comes with the case plug into the PWR_FAN header without difficulty, or should I just skip it and plug directly into the PSU (I may yet end up splurging on a fan controller, especially if it comes with a built-in memory card reader, but that's for later)? I assume that doing so would just run the fan in question at full-blast all the time, which probably wouldn't be a terrible idea for the exhaust fan. Oh, and given the size of the fans (3 x 180mm, 1 x 120mm), if I do use the headers, will the motherboard supply enough juice to get them all spinning? Or should I just toss the header idea and go for power straight from the PSU, or via a fan controller? Oh, and the PSU I'm looking at (Corsair HX 850W) doesn't appear to have any header connection to worry about, so that's not an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 06:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Any headers on your motherboard can be populated with fans. If you have four free headers then you can plug in four fans. They will run at full speed, but sometimes you can use a program like Speedfan to manually adjust their speed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 07:30 PM
Arcnor's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rossland, B.C.
Posts: 22
Smile Thanks

Thanks for the help. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 07:44 PM
C130AVN's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

The fan headers on the Mobo will safely deliver more than enough power for your fans.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 09:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that is unles you use some high powered units, im thinking couple amps each
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 03:23 AM
Arcnor's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rossland, B.C.
Posts: 22
Smile One Less Worry

Good to hear that my selected motherboard can power those big 180mm case fans -- one less thing for me to worry about, just plug and play. Given that I'll be all paranoid about the rest of the stuff working (I really ought not to read stories of parts arriving already bricked), every little thing I don't have to worry about helps. Thanks all.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan connecting to motherboard problem chang2 New Builds 4 September 13, 2009 05:46 PM
AM2 motherboard with 2 IDE headers? Perineum New Builds 8 April 8, 2009 11:34 PM
Motherboard fan controlling? chibi_man Troubleshooting 7 July 15, 2008 10:52 PM