Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 06:44 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default CoreTemp32 or Motherboard reading, which is right?

My motherboard reading says 48C but CoreTemp32 says 32C, I stuck my hand inside the case and it feels like room temperature, I even touched the heatsink and it feels around room temperature. Anyone seen this before?

__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 06:51 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,095

My System Specs

Default

Yes CPU at 32 c and cores at 43 c . Simalar to mine :)
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 06:56 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

normal Easytune 6 give you the temp of the motherboard sensor for the CPU , core temps give you the one of the CPU built-in sensor
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 07:26 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default

Which one is the more important number? i.e. Can I let my fan slow down a lot more given that the core is 32C?

Why does the motherboard sensor for the CPU display a much higher value anyways?
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 08:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Core Temp is more accurate. However, due to AMD's poor documentation with regards to their CPU temperature sensors, it's actually impossible to get an accurate temperature reading altogether. So if you have to go with something, go with Core Temp, but don't put too much faith in the numbers anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 08:26 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

I would not trust easy tune and it's just a preference but realtemp/coretemp
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get a temp reading for my unlocked X2 550 BE Caldezar Troubleshooting 15 February 12, 2010 08:49 PM
So, even after reading the FAQ.. D4ng3r HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 December 20, 2008 02:28 PM
weird -12v and -5v reading wesamess Troubleshooting 5 August 2, 2008 06:27 PM
Strange speedfan reading. dukelod Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 April 8, 2008 09:12 PM
New temperature reading program Wankerfx Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 March 3, 2008 07:29 PM