Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:08 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 51
Default CPU Fan Speed Always High

I have a new build with a P7P55D-E Pro mobo, i5-750 and CM Hyper 212 Plus cooler (build posted on another thread). I do not yet have the OS installed

When I look in the BIOS, it shows the CPU fan always running between 1950 and 2050 rpm. I think the speed range for the 212 fan (4 pin design) is supposed to be 600 to 2000 rpm. If in the BIOS I set Q-Fan and then set it to "Silent" or any other setting, I expected the fan speed to change. But it doesn't ... it just keeps cycling in the 1950 to 2050 rpm range.

This does not seem normal to me. Any suggestions? Should I consider RMAing the board/cooler before time runs out? Am I panicking unnecessarily?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:11 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trolleydriver View Post
I...... I do not yet have the OS installed
stop to mess up everything ...you just give the answer in your question
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:13 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
stop to mess everything up ...you just give the answer in your question
Wrong? You don't need an OS installed for a PWM fan to work, that's bios controlled.

Check your heat, is the CPU overheating? Perhaps if the HSF isn't seated right the CPU is getting too hot and thus the PWM fan is always running on max.

Either that or youre on the wrong fan header?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 51
Default

BIOS shows CPU temp always at 36 to 37C. I'll check again but I'm suer I have the fan plugged in to the correct header according to both the manual and what is written on the mobo. The speed shows up under the heaing of CPU fan. If it was in the wrong header wouldn't it show up under Chassis Fan (Case Fan)?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:20 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trolleydriver View Post
BIOS shows CPU temp always at 36 to 37C. I'll check again but I'm suer I have the fan plugged in to the correct header according to both the manual and what is written on the mobo. The speed shows up under the heaing of CPU fan. If it was in the wrong header wouldn't it show up under Chassis Fan (Case Fan)?
Interesting, if it isnt overheating and on the correct header than something else is amiss. Are you certain the fan itself isn't the culprit? If the PWM wire has been broken (cold solder or a break) then the fan might not be able to slow down properly. Do you have another 4-pin fan somewhere you could try it with?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Could I plug the CPU fan into the Chassis Fan header (which also has Q-Fan control) to test it?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:28 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trolleydriver View Post
Could I plug the CPU fan into the Chassis Fan header (which also has Q-Fan control) to test it?
Sure, but only if its a 4-pin as well and has PWM (Q-Fan) control from the BIOS.

Have you tried the CPU fan in non-PWM mode? (if there's an option to change it that is).
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 10:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 51
Default

I have a 4 pin chassis fan header. So I guess I could try that for the CPU fan. I also have the Intel cooler which I assume has PWM and which I could try in the CPU fan header.

I can set CPU Q-Fan to disabled which I assume is non-PWM mode and which is the default setting.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 12:57 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

That sounds a little hot to me in the bios on idle. With my 212+ the highest in the bios i'll see it is 30C
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 01:28 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

This may seem mundane, but did you save settings , Exit and restart when you changed settings for your Fan.

And with Q-Fan setups did you set the temerature Range for you Processor? I know some ASUS boards I've had , had a designated Range to keep the Temperature under. If that is amiss then your Fan will Crank to Full speed.

As well, a lot of times when the system is posting it goes to MAx until Windows loads. My Zalman CNPS10X extreme does that as my Giga board is posting until its done, then it slows down.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Speed Cable Test Prof. Dr. Silver Networking 53 May 14, 2011 07:04 PM
cpu fan speed kromesta Air Cooling 4 August 15, 2009 08:27 AM
CPU Fan speed change? HalifaxJ Troubleshooting 10 March 12, 2009 10:21 PM
High Speed Internet from Videotron zer0.cool Off Topic 11 August 1, 2008 05:44 PM
Need High Speed Cable Internet - Please Help Dashock Off Topic 29 April 7, 2008 08:15 PM