Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 12:05 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default BAD Temps

Just got my new computer.Case is corsair 800d and the mb is classified. Cooler is a TRUE Black with 2 fans and was assembled by ncix. But the idle temps un oc'd are in the high 40s! Once oc'd to 3.3 temps on each core are in mid 50s! this seems horrible for a core i7 d0. Could the cooler be put on wrong? if true damn not impressed with ncix install.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 12:11 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goalieman077 View Post
Just got my new computer.Case is corsair 800d and the mb is classified. Cooler is a TRUE Black with 2 fans and was assembled by ncix. But the idle temps un oc'd are in the high 40s! Once oc'd to 3.3 temps on each core are in mid 50s! this seems horrible for a core i7 d0. Could the cooler be put on wrong? if true damn not impressed with ncix install.
Its an i7 they run hot.

Also take into consideration Corsair 800D has no real intake for air so your going to want to put fans on the top of that case to blow in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 01:32 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

I know but compared to HWC testing temps thats terrible it can't all be the cruddy airflow
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 01:37 AM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

what are your load temps?
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 01:38 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I've got a TRUE with a 2000RPM Scythe Ultra Kaze on it.
My case has 4 x 120mm fans (1 rear, 1 top, 1 bottom, 1 lower-front).
Right now my i7 is OC'd to 3.5GHz... room is 23c.
Idle temps are approx 32c to 35c across all cores.

As linus mentioned, check your load temps.
If they're ok, then it's likely not a big deal.

If it's still too hot, try increasing your case airflow a little.
It really can make a big difference sometimes.
If that doesn't work you may want to try reseating the heatsink.

What kind of TIM was used, do you know?
Could just be that it needs to cure a little.
If that's the case, you should see your temps drop a little over the next week or two.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 10, 2009 at 02:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 02:09 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

You should check your TIM amount and spread pattern and do at least a washer mod for TRUE.
TR heatsinks bases are horror too.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 02:13 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

It has 2 Syther slip stream jyumi at 33db and like 70cfm(somewhere around there) I will check load temps tomorrow linus just disappointed cause I wanted to oc to 4. I will try reversing the 800ds back fan so it will also be bringing in air. I also am looking at putting a scythe Kama bay plus so I have an intake on the front. also I may cut a couple holes in plexiglass if really needed though I don't really want to go that far.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 02:18 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

Uhm the thermal compound is just whatever came with the revc black. Forgot
to add sum:D might have sum mx2 lying around though. I will do the washer mod as well if needed. On a positive note everything else seems great. Damn going from a crappy 128mb old gpu to this 5870 monster is crazy. It's HUGE!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 09:01 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

stress tested a minute ago. right away went to mid 70's and after 6mins high 70's. CPU core is 1.31
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 12:53 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Is that high 70's while OC'd?
What speed is your CPU running at?
Seems ok if it's OC'd with 1.31 vcore.
I'd say, run Prime95 or something for at least 10 - 20 mins and watch temps closely.
Stop if you hit mid 80's.

Oh, I don't know for sure, but 1.31 vcore looks a bit high for a mildly OC'd i7 D0?
Running 3.5GHz my vcore under full load is 1.168V... idle 1.216V (and mine's C0/C1).

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 10, 2009 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
not bad temps with 511's badatcards HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 July 24, 2009 10:10 AM
DC - All that bad? JD Off Topic 16 December 24, 2008 07:27 AM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 12:34 PM
Bad Ram?? Jarod_g29 RAM 9 February 26, 2008 10:33 AM