Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 06:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
But when overclocked, chips can die very easily. I have seen 6800GT's die at 58C. The extra voltage means the chip should stay lower. I would say 85C is a good mark for 1.35v+. Never hurts to be cautious.
A 6800GT is very different from a modern CPU. Like I said, there are protections in place to prevent damage from occurring to the CPU. The only way you can harm a modern chip is with too much voltage. High temperatures won't do a thing.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:04 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

while you guys go back and forth any chance you can tell me is anything looks wrong in the voltage?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:09 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

nothings to high i would not worry about it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:09 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
A 6800GT is very different from a modern CPU. Like I said, there are protections in place to prevent damage from occurring to the CPU. The only way you can harm a modern chip is with too much voltage. High temperatures won't do a thing.
You have a 920 sitting around? Load it up @ 1.45v and turn off your fans. If it turns itself off and still turns back on, you win.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:12 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goalieman077 View Post
while you guys go back and forth any chance you can tell me is anything looks wrong in the voltage?
Everything looks fine to me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
You have a 920 sitting around? Load it up @ 1.45v and turn off your fans. If it turns itself off and still turns back on, you win.
I don't have an i7, but the thermal protection mechanism for those CPUs is the same as the one used in the Core 2 line of CPUs. And I've actually run my Q9550 right up to the limit, although I wasn't able to get it to trigger the thermal shutdown since the throttling reduced the temperature too much. I have also read the Intel documentation relevant to their thermal protection features for both the Core 2 and Core i5/i7 product lines.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:20 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

yes it's true that c2d's can and will run with just ambient ( how good is it for them i don't know i go by my gut feelings on this cooler the better. JMO )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Yes, cooler is better, but you're basically just reducing the lifespan of the CPU from 20 years to 19 years. In the long run, the CPU will be obsolete long before it ever dies from being exposed to too much heat.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 07:41 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

uhm ram timings are 6-7-6-18 at 1600 also incase it matters. and at 1.3 I can get it to around 3.4 after that I must raise it to go higher. I will wait till I do sum mods to my 800d before I go much further
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 08:28 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I was under the impression that most D0 chips need fairly low vcore.
Why would he need 1.3V for 3.4GHz, when my C0/C1 does 3.5GHz with only 1.2375V?
Maybe you should start an OC thread and get things sorted out.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 08:34 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

kinda disappointed here because of that, I even payed the extra for a d0 stepping. I guess I just got a crappy chip then
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
not bad temps with 511's badatcards HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 July 24, 2009 11:10 AM
DC - All that bad? JD Off Topic 16 December 24, 2008 08:27 AM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 01:34 PM
Bad Ram?? Jarod_g29 RAM 9 February 26, 2008 11:33 AM