Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 8, 2009, 09:01 PM
Rookie

Default Need i7 cooler Advice

Hey, I'm new to HWC. I've always lurked here and read your reviews, just never thought to join.

I just received a shiny new i7 machine last week from NCIX. My parents didn't trust me enough to let me build my own, but NCIX did a great job. I was on a budget and I got an Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2. Everywhere I look tells me that this is a bad cooler and not to overclock with it. Only reason I bought it was to stay under a budget.

I'm currently running the i7 at 3.0 ghz with Turbo and HT off. I get up to 60 at load but games I play push it into the 50s. I tried 3.2 Ghz but the PC wouldnt boot. I used Gigabyte's Easytune software to overclock, so that may be the problem. I don't want to go higher or try manual overclocking until I get a better cooler. I've got more money now and I'm considering a couple options. Aiming for 4.0-4.2 Ghz under 100 bucks and something that'll fit onto my board and in my case.

Here's my rig at the moment.

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping

Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro REV.2 Cooler

Motherboard:Gigabyte EX58-UD5

Memory: Corsair XMS3 CMX6GX3M3A1600C9 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24

GPU: XFX Radeon HD 4890 XXX 1GB

Case: Coolermaster cm 690 mid Tower

PSU: Corsair Professional HX650W

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue SE16 640GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB

Windows 7 RTM

My budget for a cooler is 100 dollars max.

Here's what I'm considering:

The Scythe Mugen 2 (Rave Reviews everywhere)

Cooler Master Hyper 212+
(canada computers salesman said it was good, read good reviews in some places)
Looks like it beats V8 and V10 in reviews

Corsair H50 (Trust Corsair, maybe they cool well too, someone said I should go for watercooling at 4 Ghz)

Prolimatech Megahalem (rave reviews)