Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2009, 02:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default cpu fan speed

ive replaced my coolermaster v8 fan with a thermaltake smart fan, problem is it always runs at 2700rpm and its to loud. how do i change speed depening on temp. i tried to do it on the bios and doesnt work. even with the controller that came along with it, doesnt decrease the fan speed. :( a little help please
is there any program to force the fan speed at lower rpm
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2009, 02:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Application for PC case and CPU fan Three sizes available 8.9.12CM 3 BLUE LED fan Smart LED Fan (3 functions in 1) : 1. Full speed when jumper on 2. Temperature control : Fan speed varies according to the temp detected by the sensor 3. Manual control : Adjust fan speed manually

how do i disable jumper on. so i can use the other function
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2009, 05:36 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Bios maybe???
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2009, 07:37 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I think you will need to get a fan controller. Look at the maximum V. your mobo can push and if he is able to controll these type of fan.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2009, 08:27 AM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

I have the same fan, there's a sort of chain of cables if you want to use the manual one you plug it in to molex and use the 3-pin for RPM sensing. The controller plugs into one of the short 2pin wires. To use the temp sensor there's a 2pin of the opposite gender (not sure if it's male or female). The manual control only really has 2 speeds, high and low. It only changes around the middle.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Fan speed change? HalifaxJ Troubleshooting 10 March 12, 2009 10:21 PM
fan speed problems phantom_jo Air Cooling 4 February 2, 2009 06:35 AM
Fan speed control serenity Troubleshooting 13 July 28, 2008 12:08 AM
How to change fan speed for 4800 belgolas Video Cards 6 July 4, 2008 05:09 PM
Case fan speed!! Jarod_g29 Air Cooling 2 March 9, 2008 06:11 PM