Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2010, 11:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

What's the rest of your hardware?

Don't go by the bios readings as there's no real way to know what load is put on the system. Personal experience has suggested that typical bios loads are somewhere around 40 - 60%. Have a look at what your idle temps are once you get an OS up and loaded.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2010, 06:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 50
Default

Amd 120w 965, msi 790fx, crucial DDR3 10600 4gb, xfx ati 5850 BE, lian li lancool pc7kb (I think), samsung spinpoint f3. That's everything. Also even at say 60% load that seems alot higher in comparison to yours. Again thanks for everything in helping me figure this out

Last edited by ryman546; February 18, 2010 at 06:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 09:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 50
Default

Ran into a issue upgrading the fans on my hyper 212 plus. I had ordered 2 scythe 3000rpm fans and realized that on the ram side it doesnt fit the way i want. Is there any 3000rpm *or higher cfm* fan that is the same width as the stock?
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 09:30 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryman546 View Post
Ran into a issue upgrading the fans on my hyper 212 plus. I had ordered 2 scythe 3000rpm fans and realized that on the ram side it doesnt fit the way i want. Is there any 3000rpm *or higher cfm* fan that is the same width as the stock?
When dealing with Heatsinks and Radiators, you need to be more concerned with Static Pressure than RPM's and CFM.

Get an R4 and Mount it up front.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 10:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 50
Default

r4? do u mean Cooler Master - Ultimate provider of Computer Chassis | Cooler | Power Supply ?
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 10:59 AM
zc1 zc1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryman546 View Post
That is correct.
__________________
My Rig
ENGINE: i7-4770k on Z87X-UD5H // Zalman CNPS12X Heat Sink // 16 GB Vengeance DDR3-1600 MHz
ECU: Win 8 Pro, Kingston HyperX 120 GB SSD
FUEL PUMP: Corsair AX1200i
HUD: Asus GTX 690 w/ 3x Asus MX279H
CHASSIS: Silverstone FT02B-W
1/4 MILE TIME: ?
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2010, 11:07 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 50
Default

thanks. Even though it may only drop 1 degrees celsius. Ill have a r4 pushing onto cooler. scythe pulling off cooler. and right behind the scythe is a another scythe pulling out of case. My CASe temps dropped literally 5-10 degrees celsius & cpu at 2 degrees celsius at idle so far and 4 degrees at load.

Lets see how this goes!
Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 04:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 50
Default

question about the installation of the cooler "not getting good temps" The screw or whatever it is in the middle of the heatsink. Did you keep spinning it till it tightens or what?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 05:52 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Does anyone know if this retention cross will work on a TRUE 120?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post

Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 05:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 50
Default

i must say this is the hardest cpu cooler to get just right. Had no idea the middle screw was supposed to tighten. Mine just spins. so frustrated. will be the 5th time taking this thing out to figure out wth is going on.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler Review Comment Thread AkG Air Cooling 268 April 16, 2010 03:23 PM
EQ3 Warehouse Clearance Sale *Toronto Only* Eagle Eye Off Topic 12 March 24, 2009 11:19 AM
Hyper-Threading Jake_HT CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 26, 2009 07:02 PM
Rapid's Clearance event...must go Rapid-X Buy/Sell & Trade 20 October 30, 2008 02:38 PM