Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 09:14 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default E8400 Idle temps?

Im not sure whats up with this thing, but my lapped E8400 only tops out at 53c across the cores at 3.6ghz but at idle it runs at 35,40c... not sure if Im reading that wrong or what... Thats under a xiggy HDT 1283 with an aerocool 89cfm fan strapped to it. I know I have good coverage with my tim so thats not an issue...

Rj, what are your idle temps like in your old rig?
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 09:30 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

mine at idle is around 38-40c and at load is 52c at 4ghz, i have a lapped true with a cheap CM blue led fan on it. Cooler Master Neon Blue LED 120MM Case Fan 3PIN 22DBA 1220RPM 42.734CFM 3PINS - DirectCanada
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 09:42 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default






Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 10:12 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

room temp is around 20c, dont have a thermometer on hand to check. :(

edit* i'm using OCZ Ultra 5+ Premium Silver Thermal Compound.
Attached Images
 
__________________


Last edited by BT!; May 23, 2009 at 07:10 AM. Reason: added thermal compound
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 11:28 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

So these chips just idle really high then? even the E7400 was idling at around 30,32c.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 01:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

My E8500 idles VERY high, actually the idle temp was the exact same on air as water. At load it only goes up 5-10C. Everything I've read says to ignore idle temps as they mean nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 01:40 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah, Ive read that a few times as well, but its hard to ignore such high idle temps =( I was hoping for closer to high 20s, oh well I like the load temps now that ive lapped the cpu, seems to have leveled out the high temps I was getting before on an even milder overclock.

Previously I was looking at 56,57c @ 3.4ghz o.O a little high I would say.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 03:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, it could be that my cpu needs to be lapped really bad. Not sure if I want to take the block off as it'd be too much work if I had to take the mobo back off. I've never seen my second CPU under 40.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 03:22 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

idel temps mean nothing the 45nm dts sensor is 100% accurate at max temp only. it's a sliding scale down under 50c most off a bit a lot of 45nm chips will never read belowe 30c. load is all that matters
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 09:25 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
mine at idle is around 38-40c and at load is 52c at 4ghz, i have a lapped true with a cheap CM blue led fan on it
Same Temps without lapping...Zalman 9700.....I'm certainly not a fan of the benefits of Lapping in most cases..the extra (or in some cases as mine vs the above quote no benefits), isn't worth the risk.
Quote:
idel temps mean nothing the 45nm dts sensor is 100% accurate at max temp only. it's a sliding scale down under 50c most off a bit a lot of 45nm chips will never read belowe 30c. load is all that matters
+1 ^^^^^ - Idle really is meaningless (the E8400's are also infamous for "stuck sensors" which will produce useless Idle Temps)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
idle temps for Q9550 SmogTown CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 14, 2009 10:41 AM
Temps for E8400 on W/C clearly off... Barber Water Cooling 18 April 6, 2009 10:02 AM
Post your IDLE temps! BrianHanna Cases 28 February 23, 2009 09:58 AM
what is normal idle temp for e8400 Shadowmeph Air Cooling 15 December 29, 2008 10:46 PM
E8400 Idle Temps... rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 April 14, 2008 02:36 PM