Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 08:51 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chos3n View Post
....
Yeah thats a SP12, they are low CFM. But I said considering I put two of them, that it would suffice. I know there are better fan with higher CFM, but I got these fans with it and didn't really want to get other fans (budget wise).
Its not a matter of CFM per say but Static Pressure. If you are on a budget get a couple Yate Loons...cheap and good enough for WC'ing so should be good enough for Air Cooling! :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 04:57 PM
Retro's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: B.C.
Posts: 129
Default

Before I swapped out my superbly-performing TRUE for a Noctua cooler (way better mount, flat base, no movement, but doesn't quite match the TRUE's performance ) I did lap the big hump off the base of the TRUE and I glued a large steel washer to the underside of the scissor-clamp. The hole in the washer avoided any conflicts with the center pin of the TRUE's mount. It never moved after that.
__________________
Latest build:
i5 750@3800MHz 20x190@1.38125v
Noctua NH-U12P/NF-P12
4G GSkill DDR3 2000 Ripjaws
Asus P7P55D-Pro
2x EVGA GTX275 in SLI
PC P&C 750 Silencer
Cuda 500
Antec 902
W7 64 RTM

Last edited by Retro; March 27, 2009 at 05:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2009, 12:24 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Call me crazy but it seems your case airflow is restricted if you have a front 120mm fan.

Are you at stock clocks/voltage? My true idles @ the same temp with a 1.45 vcore.


Also, what kind of fan covers/brackets are those? They make the noctua's look a hell of alot better.
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2009, 05:24 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviduser View Post
Call me crazy but it seems your case airflow is restricted if you have a front 120mm fan.

Are you at stock clocks/voltage? My true idles @ the same temp with a 1.45 vcore.


Also, what kind of fan covers/brackets are those? They make the noctua's look a hell of alot better.
NCIX.com - Buy Thermalright U120E 120MM Fan Holder for Thermalright 120MM Heatsinks - U120E In Canada.

Those are the fan brackets. Thermalrights ditched the old fan clips to actual fan headers, you can buy them for 5$...so worth it when you have those 2 noctuas Also, they make the fan installation a breeze.

Yup, my E8500 is at stock voltage, stock FSB... everything stock... But yeah those fan don't have static pressure at all... I actually have 2 x 120mm fan in the front. I need those to cool my video card and my hard drive...
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2009, 05:45 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

What I meant to say is it looks like your PSU cables are hindering airflow.

Thanks for the info on the fan brackets
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2009, 06:41 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviduser View Post
What I meant to say is it looks like your PSU cables are hindering airflow.

Thanks for the info on the fan brackets
I actually need to work on that cable management But the airflow is actually decent. Both my hard drive gets cold air on them.

No problem for the fan header
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2009, 07:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Lap your heatsink. They are known to be a bit "off".
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2009, 07:56 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Noctua fans are overated IMHO. I lost 1-2C when using those on my cpu heatsink compared to offerings from Scythe in the same "noise" range. There are lots of good fans out there to pick from that will perform better.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2009, 08:31 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Noctua fans are overated IMHO. I lost 1-2C when using those on my cpu heatsink compared to offerings from Scythe in the same "noise" range. There are lots of good fans out there to pick from that will perform better.
I'm open to suggestions
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 08:44 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

So, yesterday, I finally had the chance to change my fan on my TRUE. I removed my 2 SF12 and replaced them with the P12 (Thanks Encorp ). Just before doing these tests. I just checked my IDLE temperature, and it was 37 - 38, the load temps were around 46 - 47.

So anyways, I removed the TRUE and all the fans, removed my old TIM and decided to put the IC7. Also, since the Bracket was out, I decided to put a Quarter under the bracket (didn't have any dime on me ). So, I applied the IC7 like the instruction said (5 - 5.5 mm). I then applied before with my hand, and try to see if it was evenly distributed. It was covering I would say 70% of my CPU... so I reapply some (smaller amount) and then right away I bolt it down. I could feel the quarter doing it's job as I couldn't move the heatsink anymore.

I plugged everything back together, I put the fan at 70% in my Smartfan setup, if they go over 50 degrees, they go at 100%. Check the BIOS temperature... 37 degrees

No changes! I changed 3 things: The TIM, The FANS and added a .25 under the bracket of my TRUE... something is wrong here... I was expecting to drop under 30 at least with all that. I have been doing a load test aswell and I was hitting roughly 45 - 46...

I'm seriously speechless... no changes... there has be something that I did wrong...

Anyways, :help:

Here's some pics

BTW, the Quarter was properly centered afterwards, this was my first try of clamping it.


Wires got tucked under the fan header afterwards.
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX

Last edited by Chos3n; May 12, 2009 at 09:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Mulder Air Cooling 5 September 30, 2008 12:37 AM
WTB Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme rom0n Buy/Sell & Trade 18 June 1, 2008 01:43 PM
Ultra 120 Extreme Base enaberif Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 January 22, 2008 08:37 PM
Where oh where to get a TR-120 Ultra Extreme? Dus Water Cooling 5 September 27, 2007 08:19 PM
A second look at the Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 May 4, 2007 06:23 PM