Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 08:35 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Exactly. Pushpins work ok if you install them properly and dont end up bending the hell out of em. But the bolt thru kit is much easier and you know it is not going to pop off.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 08:54 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

eagle eyes.. my bad... sorry...


and yeah what everyone says about it...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 09:44 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

its not that pushpins DONT work, its the fact that theyre a pain to install. THATS why there is so much user error with them, something simple and great like the bolt thru reduces user error easily, push pins are out dated and useless imo.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 03:14 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

hrmmmmm....

No response from the OP.......

I hope his proc survived the ordeal.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 05:50 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

Well, I have installed stock cooler. It runs, it primes, it shines.
Looks like instead of inventing very simple and reliable cooler installation lock, Intel spent untold millions designing chips that don't die without heatsink :)
I mean, I was scared to death having 400CAD CPU go up in smokes. I hope it is not going to have some long term effect on it, it did not burn one of those quadrillion of transistors in two dies.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 05:51 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

I am curious, did anyone had their quad core fried when cooler fell off?
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear that it seems to be working fine. I've only ever have a single C2D chip die on me, and that was due to WC coolant flowing down the traces on the back of the motherboard... I suspect it shorted out to a voltage much higher than normal vcore. (The board was fine... the chip was dead).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2009, 06:06 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

When the guy who made realtemp was doing his testing to find the Tjmax of the 45nm quads he ran his E8400 without a heatsink and nothing more than an 80mm fan on it, and IIRC his proc was still running fine. Nearly all of the procs/mobo's will shutdown at a critical temperature to prevent damage so I think your CPU is safe.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2009, 08:32 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

Thanks. I was kind of surprised to see 100 degree in Real Temp. That's Tjmax, chip supposed to be shut down, not priming under heavy throttle.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2009, 10:33 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,151
Default

Thats good to hear it didn't die. In the summer, one of the pc's in our house (p4) was reading 102 degrees. I couldn't figure out why it was running so hot. My guess is that I was using the wrong monitoring program that wasn't meant for p4s. Thats the only thing I can think of, as the heatsink was still on!

And about the debate about pushpins, I would MUCH rather have a bolt thru kit. I was installing a pushpin after market heatsink on a computer i built for someone, and it did not want to stay on. I'd hear the clicks, then i'd move the motherboard, and the top would come undone.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prime95 Error Vegaslife Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 January 19, 2009 09:55 AM
Need some help with prime95 Gameplaywarrior O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 29, 2008 11:16 AM
Prime95 and other stress tests Dwayne Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 22 September 7, 2008 07:05 PM
HWMonitor w Prime95 Running rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 April 3, 2008 08:15 PM
Prime95 v2.51 enaberif Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 25, 2007 08:34 PM