Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Air Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 12:28 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 317

My System Specs

Post Xeon Overclock & Voltage

I have an Intel Xeon 3350 quad core running @ 3.3 ghz (stock 2.66) My voltage stock was 1.15v, but now when its up to the new overclocked speed, the voltage ranges from 1.30 - 1.32 v .. Its idle @ 29-31c, ran stress tests with Prime 95 for an hour and seen it up to 59c with zero errors. In game generally it runs about 42c, sometimes 44-45c max. It has been very stable with no errors or problems in 2 weeks. My question being, does the voltage seem a bit high? I look at other peoples, and it just seems slightly high.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 11:26 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Try to find minimum voltage for stability.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 11:42 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

First off I'd like to know if you're overclocking with the stock fan that came with it. If that's the case, then I'd say these temps are where they should be, and perhaps better than usual. I really suggest buying a new heatsink+fan to lower those temps even more, and get even more overclocking headroom out of it. Those voltages are fine for that chip.

EDIT: And please tell me that you're not using the Auto-overclocking feature in the BIOS...I see a very good, almost round 25% overclock. If you are, I really suggest doing it manually!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 09:59 PM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 317

My System Specs

Default

LOL no no .. I put on an after market heatsink/fan. I am running a Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B Cooler with Arctic silver 5 thermal paste and a upgraded Scythe Slip Stream Kaze 120mm - 110 CFM pushing @ 100%. I also did the overclock manually in BIOS, and set it unlinked with my ram @ 1066 from 800. It is 1066 ram though. If I try and set it above 3.4 ghz, I get a long beep, and it resets itself. Is that due to, too low of a voltage? Or just is the chip incapable of anything more?

Thanks for all your help guys :-)

Last edited by Apathetik; January 6, 2009 at 10:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Xeon E3110 Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 5 November 27, 2008 06:24 PM
How well does the XEON 3070 Overclock in general? bushwickbill CPU's and Motherboards 1 July 21, 2008 12:09 PM
New Xeon vs Q6600 Nodscene CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 1, 2008 04:16 PM
xeon Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 17 March 9, 2008 06:07 AM
C2D vs Quad vs Xeon enaberif CPU's and Motherboards 9 August 9, 2007 11:40 PM