View Single Post
Old September 3, 2008, 10:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Charlie:
I chose the MB for a few reasons; first is because it's amongst the highest performing MB's in the X38 line. It has some incredible overclocking features to it, and although I'm not much of an OC'er, products made with OC'ing in mind tend to be extremely dependable when run in stock configuration. Another great thing about this motherboard is that it supports both DDR2 and DDR3 RAM. So if I decide to upgrade in a while, it's as easy as switching one out for the other. And lastly, the dual digital audio feature is huge for me. I run a few audio mixing programs as a hobby, and this is something I'd use for sure.

As stated before, I'm new to the Intel lineup, so I don't know what the performance is like across the table. I was under the assumption that Intel was more or less phasing out the dual cores in favour of the quads. I just figured it was the way to go with Intel. How's the performance on the E8400? The price is certainly attractive at $100 less than the quad.

Issues with the Firestix? Bummer, I was actually choosing Firestix because I'd heard they were more stable. Although Mushkin has really been thrown around a lot on the forums, so there must be some substance to it. I'll look into it for sure. Thanks for the tip.

I'm actually looking at the LG's based on noise level alone. I mean, let's face it... Samsung, LG, Pioneer... they've all pretty much mastered the DVDRW by now. I know that SATA optical drives are slightly newer on the technology timeline, but I don't really think I'd be dissapointed too much with the performance on any of them. From what I've read though, LG is pretty much the quietest of the bunch. Which suits me just fine since I've been using LG Opticals for as long as I can remember assempling my own systems.