View Single Post
Old November 30, 2012, 09:54 AM
Rookie

Default Custom fan controller - Technical advice needed

Hey everyone! This is my first time posting in this forum. I'm sorry if this is the wrong section, but I couldn't find an "experiments" subforum.

I tried another hardware forum I frequent to get some help, but didn't have any luck. I'm sorry if this is the wrong section, couldn't find an "experiments" subforum though.

So i thought "What the heck, the folks at hardwarecanucks seem helpful, It/they helped more than a few times, maybe it's time I join the community, and get some tips on my wacky experiments"

*This is a pasted version of my post in former forums*

Quote:
Hey people.

I'm modding my case yet again, I will cut it up, change the cage locations, do a whole new front, change the power LEDs, put some new power buttons, drill some fan mounts, coat of paint, you know the drill.

Something came across my mind though. I figured out I can make a super cheap and effective fan controller out of a potentiometer, or variable resistor.

Now, i can't be arsed to order in a fan controller, since i don't have any in my vicinity. I'd like to approach the pot idea though, it'll only set me back a couple of cents. Maybe a few bucks for some 3-pin connnectors. I also like the challenge of homemade modding, so the "I made it myself" factor is also a pretty good incentive!

What i'd like to know is, can i put one potentiometer controlling various fans, let's say 6 for example? What specs would the pot need? Could they be daisy chained?

I have soldering know how, just not alot of experience with component calculations. Anything i can learn off of this will be useful for future projects.

Any help and explanations would be appreciated!

Update: