View Single Post
Old November 5, 2012, 07:42 AM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortkentdad View Post
I upgraded to WIndows 8 Pro in order to break the 16 GB RAM limit in Windows 7 Home Edition. And that worked.

For the most part Windows 8 is OK - takes some getting used to and frankly I spend 95% of my time in the Desktop view. Yep I miss START - but I live. I'll have to find out how to list all programs in Desktop but I'm still learning.

I encountered a problem, Internet Explorer 10 stopped working. It tires to open and gives the error that
Internet Exploer has stopped working - A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available. And it closes it, and immediately reopens it, closes and opens etc etc. Task Manager to break the loop.

So I check on MS Forums to see what to do. MAKE IE your default browser. Well that works - sort of. It works in the Metro view, but not in Desktop. That is sad that IE Must be Default to work. A little bit of MS is Boss thinking there.

All the solutions they suggested could not get IE operational again in Desktop. I broke it.

Interesting it works OK when my wife logs in under her user name. So it has to be a setting. But I did go to the "reset IE" to all defaults including removing all personalizations and add ins.

SO - since I want a browser in desktop, and since I prefer Chrome to IE I guess IE gets deleted from the start and unpinned from the taskbar. The

Frankly I am not eager to learn how to use the IE 10 Browser in Metro - it just isn't intuitive. Took me a while to learn how to close it for pity sakes.