View Single Post
Old August 6, 2012, 07:16 PM
Rookie

Default First build for $0.00 from hand me down parts

Hi I know this is going to sound odd but I have this experiment I want to try. I have almost no money to buy a new computer, but I have access to transportation - a car. I've never had a "gaming computer". I have been using the same cruddy laptop for almost 4 years now. I really want to get into system building and PC gaming but just can't afford to do so right now with my current living conditions. I'm also trying to gain experience in PC building for a potential future job. Just something I can put on my resume. I consider myself a PC enthusiast even though never having the opportunity to build my own system. Everyday I come home and read all the computer hardware sites and tech news sites. In fact I'm quite positive I have seen every video LinusTechTips and NCIXcom has put out on YouTube. I'm fairly confident in my ability to build a pc even though having no hands on experience.

Like I said I'm on almost a $0.00 budget with all my money going to school bills and things of this nature. My idea is that maybe there is some way I could round up enough free hand-me down old computer parts to build myself a PC. I'm not talking about high end parts or anything of that nature, just anything I can put together a PC with. Basically I just want to get into PC building and want to gain experience most importantly. I'm not looking to run BF3 on ultra, I'm looking to run Age of Empires at a decent FPS.

I didn't know where to post this so sorry if its in a bad section.

Anyways here is what I had in mind exactly