View Single Post
Old June 10, 2012, 12:05 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Home Server Questions

Hello guys, I have a few questions for you since I am complete newbie at networking and setting up a server. I have put the money in, and have built myself a home server and ready to begin. Before I do this, I want some questions answered so I know what I will be capable of doing. I will list my setup so you guys have an idea of what I am working with.

For hardware, Basically it is a air cooled system using a Corsair 550D tower. It's an X58 setup, using a i7 950 quad core, 12 GB of ram and an ASUS board. I will be running Windows Server 2008 R2 but this is questionable considering my needs are purely media based.

Basically, the purpose of my server is to hold all my files so that I can be organized and not have a bunch of a different files all over the place. I want to keep important files on there and documents and have easy access to them when I need them, apart from my main desktop. It's a back up server. so here are my questions.

1. I want to know if its possible for my server computer to have access to the internet using my ISP router but be hosting an internal network at the same time using a hub or switch. What kind of hardware would I need if this is possible? and how would I connect it? My motherboard has only 1 gigabit port so maybe If I get a LAN card?