View Single Post
Old April 14, 2012, 01:27 PM
Trial Member

Hi, another person having problems with an ASUS RMA.

I have an ASUS P6X58D Premium motherboard that I have been using for a little over two years.

It was originally purchased on Newegg on 3/30/2012 (Invoice #58813518, Order #97965162) and yesterday, while using my computer as usual, I began to smell smoke and looked at my case to find a buildup of smoke inside. I turned off the computer and unplugged it from the outlet. After waiting for the smoke and burnt electronics smell to dissipate, I opened up my computer case to find that part of the motherboard had burned off and that there was exposed copper.

I filled out the RMA form online only to find out that this motherboard was not covered under ASUS Premium Service (APS) when it was explicitly stated to be when I had first purchased the item so I would not be able to cross-ship and instead would have to wait 3-4 weeks for a regular RMA to work out (my friend's recent RMA with ASUS over a motherboard took a month) which was not acceptable. I called ASUS at 1-812-282-2787 and was informed by the first person I spoke with that:

1) This motherboard was never covered by APS at any time. (Lie #1)
2) The damage to my motherboard (where it spontaneously burned) was considered physical damage and as such I would not be able to RMA it.