View Single Post
Old January 29, 2012, 02:26 AM
MVP

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
I bolded the part that is just not true. For example you are creating textures for X game, you have a choice of creating them at 4096x4096 or 512x512. Since you are making it for a console you choose 512x512. Now when it ports to PC it is way lower than it could be. If you had just done it at the larger size it would only need to be scaled down for the lesser consoles. Not only would this increase the visual quality of the game on a PC, but most likely on the console as well. Will this take more time? Maybe slightly as yes your artist may have to put in slightly more fine details, but you are not going to be hiring other people or needing better infrastructure.
I'm not going to pretend I'm a game developer, but I do know a little bit about texture design and I don't think it's as easy as you think. It takes a lot of time to get it right. How one approaches the design depends greatly on the target resolution. And it's vital to be as efficient as possible.

What you're describing often happen within an acceptable range of resolutions, but the range you present is unreasonable. It would be literally more than twice the work.

Have you noticed that the credits at the end of games keep getting longer? Most development teams are huge these days. Upcoming games will be even more sophisticated and require even larger teams. Many studios fail with each new generation of consoles because they can't scale well.

I've already expressed the factors I think are shaping the next generation of consoles. Price will probably be the most important consideration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agafaba View Post
I dont know if I remember properly as its been a while but wasnt the cards in the 360/PS3 much better compared to what was out at the time then the 6670 will be next year?

either way, I am looking forward to DX11 being widespread and not having to use DX9 anymore.