View Single Post
Old January 16, 2012, 07:29 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Memory issues can be weird ones to troubleshoot. I'm not saying that's definitely the problem with your computer. I'm only giving you suggestions to try. I had a memory issue last year. I had been running my computer for a year with no issues. I got the occasional BSOD once in a great while, but nothing that could be definitively attributed to anything that I could find. Then I started playing minecraft. And my BSOD's skyrocketed. It took me a week to narrow it down to the memory because I had to constantly replicate the issue and I only had limited time to work on it each day. Ran memtest found errors. So I thought, crap, now I have to figure out which module it is. Pulled out one module and retested. Errors completely gone. I thought great I found the faulty module on the first try. 2 seconds later reality set in and I realized that computers are never that simple. I put the module back it and retested. Errors came back. Pulled out another different module this time and retested. Errors completely gone again. So it wasn't a faulty module, so it had to be something else. After researching I found that my particular motherboard didn't like using my particular memory while populating all 4 slots. Rampage formula and Corsair Dominator PC-8500+ @1066mhz. 3 would work fine, but for some reason running four caused memory errors and system instability. Like I said, I'm not saying that it's definitely the problem, only that it could very easily be the issue. Voltages with memory can be a very finicky thing. That's why it threw up a huge red flag when you listed your differing memory modules. Hell, when that happened my computer it ran beautifully for a year as well. I was surprised as hell when I found the problem. If you want to do a slower test, then take out 2 of the modules and run with 4gb of one matched pair for a couple days and see if the problem goes away. If the problem goes away, then